transplate a T3 into a 2.5 engine bay? - Turbo Dodge Forums : Turbo Dodge Forum for Turbo Mopars, Shelbys, Dodge Daytona, Dodge SRT-4, Chrysler PT Cruiser, Omni and more!

Turbo III Help with turbo III cars

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 01-09-2013, 04:05 PM Thread Starter
Boostaholic
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Scottsdale, Arizona
 
My Ride: 93 daytona iroc r/t
Engine: 2.2L T-III
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 348
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
transplate a T3 into a 2.5 engine bay?

well ive been looking at a few rust free cars that are in my neighborhood and i was wondering what it would take to put my T3 into a 2.5 engine bay? are the mounts different? what electronics need to be swapped? what needs to be done with the brakes and suspension?

im kinda flying in the dark on this one. never really considered doing it but cars around here are clean and its cheaper then doing bodywork.
bahelion89 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 01-09-2013, 06:20 PM
Holset Booster
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Southern WI
 
My Ride: Lots of TIII cars:-)
Engine: 2.2TIII EDS code
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 12.101

Posts: 3,535
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Re: transplate a T3 into a 2.5 engine bay?

What cars are you looking at? An easy swap would be a 90-92 2.5 turbo car as the electronics would be pretty easy to convert. The TIII motor would drop right in them considing its a 5 spd car to start. If you find a rust free 92-93 Daytona just transplant everything under the engine bay over to that and you will be good to go. Need more in on cars you are looking at.....
Lotashelbys is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 01-09-2013, 08:11 PM Thread Starter
Boostaholic
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Scottsdale, Arizona
 
My Ride: 93 daytona iroc r/t
Engine: 2.2L T-III
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 348
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Re: transplate a T3 into a 2.5 engine bay?

There's been 2 92-93 Es that have popped up and 3 92-93 irocs it would b nice to do a vin swap resto mod
bahelion89 is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 01-09-2013, 09:47 PM
Holset Booster
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Southern WI
 
My Ride: Lots of TIII cars:-)
Engine: 2.2TIII EDS code
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 12.101

Posts: 3,535
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Re: transplate a T3 into a 2.5 engine bay?

As long as the ES cars are V6 you could just swap out everything under the hood of your Iroc and be good to go. The V6 Irocs would be the best choice as they also have the same suspension and big brakes as yours....
Lotashelbys is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 01-11-2013, 06:00 PM Thread Starter
Boostaholic
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Scottsdale, Arizona
 
My Ride: 93 daytona iroc r/t
Engine: 2.2L T-III
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 348
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Re: transplate a T3 into a 2.5 engine bay?

I'm not as concerned with the suspension as the time its going to take to transplant the engine and Trans I will end up stripping everything off my iroc Rt and swapping it but the engine will be the hardest
bahelion89 is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 01-13-2013, 04:30 PM
TD Hardcore User!
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: York, Maine
 
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 2,288
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Re: transplate a T3 into a 2.5 engine bay?

what happened to your car? didn't know rust was much of problem in Arizona. that does suck to have to part out an original iroc r/t, there were so few to begin with.
capev86 is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 01-13-2013, 07:07 PM Thread Starter
Boostaholic
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Scottsdale, Arizona
 
My Ride: 93 daytona iroc r/t
Engine: 2.2L T-III
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 348
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Re: transplate a T3 into a 2.5 engine bay?

I've only been in Arizona for 6 months. Me and the car have been in Wisconsin most of our lives. the point of a vin swap restore is to use a better body but all the parts of the original car. So its not a true part out.
bahelion89 is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 01-22-2013, 12:18 PM
TD Extreme User!
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Abbotsford, BC, Canada
 
My Ride: 1989 Turbo Caravan
Engine: 2.5L TIII DOHC
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 12.570

Posts: 15,057
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Re: transplate a T3 into a 2.5 engine bay?

Its easy, it will drop right in, 90 plus is better for the cars due to the SBEC.
turbovanman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Turbo Dodge Forums : Turbo Dodge Forum for Turbo Mopars, Shelbys, Dodge Daytona, Dodge SRT-4, Chrysler PT Cruiser, Omni and more! forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Member names may only be composed of alpha-numeric characters. (A-Z and 0-9)

!!ATTENTION ADVERTISERS!! If you intend on advertising anything on this forum, whatsoever, you are required to first contact us here . Additionaly, we do NOT allow BUSINESS NAMES unless you are an Authorized Vendor. If you own a business, and want to do sales on this site via posting or private message, you will need to follow the rules. Shops, Stores, Distributors, Group Buys without being authorized will see your account terminated.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome