Help!! Motor running way rich - Turbo Dodge Forums : Turbo Dodge Forum for Turbo Mopars, Shelbys, Dodge Daytona, Dodge SRT-4, Chrysler PT Cruiser, Omni and more!
TurboDodge.com MarketPlace Shelby Registry Contact Us

Advertisement - Remove these ads today by clicking here.
Go Back   Turbo Dodge Forums : Turbo Dodge Forum for Turbo Mopars, Shelbys, Dodge Daytona, Dodge SRT-4, Chrysler PT Cruiser, Omni and more! > Turbo specific > 16v Conversion


16v Conversion Converting to 16V status

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-25-2012, 02:18 PM   #1
Exclamation Help!! Motor running way rich  
TD New Guy
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: phoenix

My Ride: 1990 Daytona ES
Engine: 2.5 16v dohc hybred conversion
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 8
Feedback: (0)
TJ SCHULZE is keeping the peace
I have a 1990 Dodge Daytona, 2.5 with 16v 2.4 stratus head and intake. I am running a a GT35R turbo set at a max of 15 psi. This is a 5 speed manual trans car. The motor has about 400 miles on a fresh rebuild. This is the second motor of this setup in this car. I spun a bearing on the first motor after about 25,000 miles.
About 150 miles ago I fried my sbec (fwd stage 5 cal) and swithed out to my original stock computer. I ran this computer on the original motor while waiting for the fwd sbec and had no issues.
With the stock computer i am running way rich. i can kill a set of plugs within 25-30 miles. I have put the stock injectors back in, i put in a stock map sensor, a new o2 sensor, i have checked the tps and it is good. My fuel pressure is 55 psi at idle. i even went back to the stock fuel pressure regulator. Hep sensor is good and timing is set at 12 degrees. Cam timing is set at the stock 2.4 setting and it does have the stock 2.4 cams.
This motor ran great with this exact same setup before and i am out of ideas as to what is causing it to run so rich. Any help here would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks,
Troy
TJ SCHULZE is offline  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share on facebook
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-25-2012, 08:59 PM   #2
Re: Help!! Motor running way rich  
TD Extreme User!
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ.

1/4: 0.000

Posts: 11,503
Feedback: (58)
tryingbe is keeping our cars running
What wideband do you have installed?
tryingbe is offline  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-25-2012, 11:09 PM   #3
Re: Help!! Motor running way rich  
TD New Guy
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: phoenix

My Ride: 1990 Daytona ES
Engine: 2.5 16v dohc hybred conversion
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 8
Feedback: (0)
TJ SCHULZE is keeping the peace
No wideband, just an A/F gage.

Do you still have that ajustable fuel pressure regulator for sale?
TJ SCHULZE is offline  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-26-2012, 02:03 AM   #4
Re: Help!! Motor running way rich  
Super Pope

 
The Pope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Spokane WA

Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 9,855
Feedback: (10)
Images: 5
The Pope has really helped outThe Pope has really helped out
what vac is the computer seeing at idle? A big leak can cause the vac at the map to drop and in goes the etra fuel. Where were these injectors sitting? They may be stuck open, but it sounds like all 4 plugs foul so I would look at the map vac. Double check map and injector parts number again as well. You have have put in a 3 bar by accident. Lastly the fuel return is something to look at, but you have good idle pressure so it is doubtful as a problem. New sensor come stuck in lean mode and stuck in rich mode. May have a 02 sending out an extra lean signal.
__________________
Rob Walsh

84 DC Shelby Rampage
86 GLHS 76
89 CSX 187
92 2.5 Turbo ES Shadow Convertable
70 R/T SE Challenger, supercharged 340
05 PT GT
93 Cummins


The Pope is offline  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-26-2012, 06:39 AM   #5
Re: Help!! Motor running way rich  
TD New Guy
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: phoenix

My Ride: 1990 Daytona ES
Engine: 2.5 16v dohc hybred conversion
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 8
Feedback: (0)
TJ SCHULZE is keeping the peace
i will check all of that when i get off work today. Thanks for the ideas.
TJ SCHULZE is offline  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-26-2012, 06:41 PM   #6
Re: Help!! Motor running way rich  
TD New Guy
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: phoenix

My Ride: 1990 Daytona ES
Engine: 2.5 16v dohc hybred conversion
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 8
Feedback: (0)
TJ SCHULZE is keeping the peace
I checked the map and injectors. They are the ones that came from the original 8 valve head. definately the stock ones. I pulled the fuel rail and spun the motor over and the injectors have a good spray and are cycling correctly, didn't see any leakage. It is all four cylinders that are fouling out on the plugs. I have a steady 20 inches of vac. at idle as read on the in dash gauge. The A/F meter i have installed is cycling between lean and rich just as it always has.
While i am fairly sure that i do have the original stock factory computer in the car, i was thinking and it is possible that the computer is actually out of a 1991 vnt turbo car. When i originally converted this car from tbi i used a 1991 underhood harness and the one i bought came with the computer. I don't know if running a vnt computer would cause this problem. This may not be the computer i was running before i got the fwd computer. If this is the vnt computer than i no longer have the regular turbo computer.
TJ SCHULZE is offline  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-26-2012, 08:28 PM   #7
Re: Help!! Motor running way rich  
Super Pope

 
The Pope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Spokane WA

Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 9,855
Feedback: (10)
Images: 5
The Pope has really helped outThe Pope has really helped out
The car should be very lean, not rich. So something is very fishy. It would actually run better with FFVs or +20s and a stock cal and map. So something isn't matching up. Fuel pressure, map, injectors or the 02. If you were complaining about really lean I'd be convinced the right matching parts were in there. Did you actually look up the injector part numbers and the map part number? Or did they look stock? My 3 bar maps look just like a 2 bar, the injectors aren't much different. 804s, +20s, +40s and my 85 lb injectors are identical. At this level you should already have a scanner to watch 02 feed back and watching for knock, the OTC 2000 is about $25. At this level you should have a wideband, a cheap narrow band can be stuck in lean mode flooding the engine... At this point it is still guessing. Even the factory computer has a part number to check. Need to get a list going.
__________________
Rob Walsh

84 DC Shelby Rampage
86 GLHS 76
89 CSX 187
92 2.5 Turbo ES Shadow Convertable
70 R/T SE Challenger, supercharged 340
05 PT GT
93 Cummins


The Pope is offline  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-26-2012, 10:17 PM   #8
Re: Help!! Motor running way rich  
TD New Guy
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: phoenix

My Ride: 1990 Daytona ES
Engine: 2.5 16v dohc hybred conversion
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 8
Feedback: (0)
TJ SCHULZE is keeping the peace
The map senor is a bwd from oreilly auto, so i know that is a stock unit. The part number matches. The injectors were kept in a sealed bag that was marked with what they were. I'm confident those two items are what they are.

I will see if i can pick up an otc 2000 tomorrow after work. never used one and don't know if i can even find one locally here, but i will give it a shot.

I will pull the computer tomorrow after work and check the part number on it.

This car was my daily driver when i was still living in Wyoming. I came down here to Phoenix 18 months ago and just finally got to bring this car down here. Which meens this car sat for 18 months without being so much as even being started. And yes, it was properly prepped to be left sitting. I really need to have this car as my daily driver again.
TJ SCHULZE is offline  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-26-2012, 11:21 PM   #9
Re: Help!! Motor running way rich  
Legendary Driver
 
GLHNSLHT2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Spokane, Wa

My Ride: 85 GLHT, 87 ShelbyZ,
Engine: 2.2 T2 and 2.5 T2
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 13.882

Posts: 10,083
Feedback: (7)
GLHNSLHT2 has really helped outGLHNSLHT2 has really helped out
odd that the O2 is cycling and it's still fouling plugs. Maybe you have a bad ground and it's not giving the ECU a correct reading from the O2?
GLHNSLHT2 is offline  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-26-2012, 11:37 PM   #10
Re: Help!! Motor running way rich  
TD New Guy
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: phoenix

My Ride: 1990 Daytona ES
Engine: 2.5 16v dohc hybred conversion
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 8
Feedback: (0)
TJ SCHULZE is keeping the peace
I will ohm out the wires from the O2 sensor to the computer tomorrow also. With this old of wiring you just never know.
TJ SCHULZE is offline  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-27-2012, 07:30 AM   #11
Re: Help!! Motor running way rich  
TD Extreme User!
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ.

1/4: 0.000

Posts: 11,503
Feedback: (58)
tryingbe is keeping our cars running
If you are in AZ, we have a TD specialist in Mesa. Located at Mesa Dr. and McKelips. His name is AJ, 480 969 5985
tryingbe is offline  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-31-2012, 11:50 AM   #12
Re: Help!! Motor running way rich  
Hybrid Booster
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Green Bay WI

My Ride: 87 Shelby Z
Engine: 2.2 TII
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 15.200

Posts: 1,245
Feedback: (1)
bfarroo is keeping the peace
the FP is set with the vacuum line unhooked right? 55 is a little high if it isn't.
bfarroo is offline  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-31-2012, 08:16 PM   #13
Re: Help!! Motor running way rich  
TD New Guy
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: phoenix

My Ride: 1990 Daytona ES
Engine: 2.5 16v dohc hybred conversion
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 8
Feedback: (0)
TJ SCHULZE is keeping the peace
Quote:
Originally Posted by bfarroo View Post
the FP is set with the vacuum line unhooked right? 55 is a little high if it isn't.
55 psi at idle is within normal specs.

I do believe i have found the problem. I had a broken wire from the map solenoid to the computer. Not sure why this was causing the problem, but after i soldered and heat shrinked the wire the rich problem seems to be resolved.

I did find out that the computer is from a 91 vnt vehicle. I am waiting to hear back from boost button as to whether i need to find a different computer to put their reprogrammable chip in.

I also just ordered a Innovate wideband, so i should have that pretty soon.

The next issue will be getting the car to pass emissions here in Phoenix.
TJ SCHULZE is offline  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Turbo Dodge Forums : Turbo Dodge Forum for Turbo Mopars, Shelbys, Dodge Daytona, Dodge SRT-4, Chrysler PT Cruiser, Omni and more! forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Member names may only be composed of alpha-numeric characters. (A-Z and 0-9)

!!ATTENTION ADVERTISERS!! If you intend on advertising anything on this forum, whatsoever, you are required to first contact us here . Additionaly, we do NOT allow BUSINESS NAMES unless you are an Authorized Vendor. If you own a business, and want to do sales on this site via posting or private message, you will need to follow the rules. Shops, Stores, Distributors, Group Buys without being authorized will see your account terminated.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.3.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:19 AM.