Is Factory Cruise Control On 87 T2 Shelby Daytona Possible? - Turbo Dodge Forums : Turbo Dodge Forum for Turbo Mopars, Shelbys, Dodge Daytona, Dodge SRT-4, Chrysler PT Cruiser, Omni and more!
Turbo Dodge Help Urgent help when something goes wrong with your Dodge and you can't figure out what the problem is. Troubleshooting help and the place to post when you're stuck with a broken car and have to get to work the next day.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 26 Old 01-14-2017, 07:39 PM Thread Starter
- OFFICIAL GEARHEAD -

 
ILIKESHELBYS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Roswell, GA
 
My Ride: SC/GLHS(2)/CSX
Engine: 2.2
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 6,618
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
   
Is Factory Cruise Control On 87 T2 Shelby Daytona Possible?

OK, real quick and short, I have two 86 Turbo Z's that were born a CS T1 cars. I am almost finished upgrading them to T2 specs, one is using the GLHS style Logic Module the other with an 87 Shelby Z logic module. Everything is going along just fine but the cruise control servo that is under the stock battery tray has to be moved apparently because of the intercooler's lower hose inlet location No big deal... But the cruise control servo cable end that attaches to the throttle body is way different on the T1 and is not going to work on the T2 style throttle body cable cam. I'm talking about the black plastic cam that moves the throttle body butterfly open/closed and that the throttle cable and speed control cables attach to.

So I looked in the Chrysler 87 parts book, and they don't list a speed control servo for the T2/Shelby cars with intercooler, only T1 car's without the intercooler and of course they have the same style cable as the 86 T1.

Is there such a thing as dealer installed cruise control in the 87 Shelby Z Daytona?

BTW, the 86 style cruise control is the type that takes a cable up from the transmission speed sensor to the speed control servo to get a speed signal, and it has a vacuum line attached to the brake booster to get the needed vacuum to run the servo and pull the cable as needed.

I'm thinking I need maybe just the right type of cable to fit the T2 style throttle body cable cam, or maybe the late T1 style throttle body which is I think just about the same.

So how is it we accomplish cruise control on a T2 Daytona...gen 1 Daytona that is?

Boost on...
Steven Seale


QUICK-FIT SHIFT RODS★ ~ ★A525/A555 CONVERSION BRACKET
QUICK-SHIFTER ★ ~ ★REBUILT TRANSMISSIONS★ ~ ★PT LIFTERS AND SHIMS
PROUD TO BE AN ACTIVE MEMBER OF THE TURBO DODGE ENTHUSIAST COMMUNITY
ILIKESHELBYS is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 26 Old 01-14-2017, 10:58 PM
Super Moderator

 
Dr. Johny Dodge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
 
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 10,520
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
   
Re: Is Factory Cruise Control On 87 T2 Shelby Daytona Possible?

you do this by getting your hands on a TII cruise unit

Yes they really do exist .. 87,88 and 89

Yes the cable will be the correct one and I think the piece that bolts to the battery bracket may be unique in it's own mounting bracket

BUT .. hard as nails to find- rare like an innocent hooker

Heh heh..... what's it worth to ya ?

Yes , I do just happen to have one left from my blue 86 TZ TII conversion

If WAS in my car but I never used it with my MP smec conversion
Dr. Johny Dodge is offline  
post #3 of 26 Old 01-15-2017, 09:59 AM
Level 3 Supporter
 
4Daytonas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: 30 mi NE.of Evansville In
 
My Ride: 84 Turbo Z, 91 Shelb
Engine: 2.2-2.5
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 4,298
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Re: Is Factory Cruise Control On 87 T2 Shelby Daytona Possible?

I did the same thing. My 85 Laser was converted to T2 status and I just made the throttle linkage by grafting the 85 to the 88 TB and used the 85 cables.. I made a mount to move the servo a little and I DID have to use a Masi lower hose to clear everything. 85(and 86) cruise is not controlled by the computer. I have a few pix but they are too big to post here. PM me an email addy and I'll get you the pix.
4Daytonas is online now  
 
post #4 of 26 Old 01-15-2017, 01:23 PM
Hybrid Booster
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada
 
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 1,765
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Re: Is Factory Cruise Control On 87 T2 Shelby Daytona Possible?

As mentioned, 1987 T-II and GLHS cars diddn't have cruise available other than dealer or aftermarket.

I added 1988 cruise to my 1986 Omni when I converted to SMEC/Super 60 way back.

I have a box of servos collected over the years and possibly a Daytona servo strut mount bracket.

I had my SMEC tuned to allow approx 120 MPH on cruise.

I'm curious how the earlier units limited cruise top speed .

Thanks
Randy
Glhs60 is offline  
post #5 of 26 Old 01-15-2017, 01:47 PM Thread Starter
- OFFICIAL GEARHEAD -

 
ILIKESHELBYS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Roswell, GA
 
My Ride: SC/GLHS(2)/CSX
Engine: 2.2
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 6,618
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
   
Re: Is Factory Cruise Control On 87 T2 Shelby Daytona Possible?

Hey Doc Dodge, I knew somebody out here would have attempted something like this, I'm interested of course but wanted to ask a few questions about actually getting it working, maybe you remember what you had to go through to get it actually working.

From what I know the 85-86 cruise is not computer controlled but the 87 is from what I hear and read. Since one of the turbo Zs I have is using the GLHS LM I don't know if an 87 cruise will work on that car. On the other hand, the other turbo Z will have an 87 Shelby Z LM installed. Do you remember what was required electrically to get the 87+ style cruise to work in an earlier car. Since you were an SMEC car it would be different for sure but I am just wondering what wiring is required. Thanks buddy for anything you have to offer.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr. Johny Dodge View Post
you do this by getting your hands on a TII cruise unit

Yes they really do exist .. 87,88 and 89

Yes the cable will be the correct one and I think the piece that bolts to the battery bracket may be unique in it's own mounting bracket

BUT .. hard as nails to find- rare like an innocent hooker

Heh heh..... what's it worth to ya ?

Yes , I do just happen to have one left from my blue 86 TZ TII conversion

If WAS in my car but I never used it with my MP smec conversion

Boost on...
Steven Seale


QUICK-FIT SHIFT RODS★ ~ ★A525/A555 CONVERSION BRACKET
QUICK-SHIFTER ★ ~ ★REBUILT TRANSMISSIONS★ ~ ★PT LIFTERS AND SHIMS
PROUD TO BE AN ACTIVE MEMBER OF THE TURBO DODGE ENTHUSIAST COMMUNITY
ILIKESHELBYS is offline  
post #6 of 26 Old 01-15-2017, 01:54 PM Thread Starter
- OFFICIAL GEARHEAD -

 
ILIKESHELBYS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Roswell, GA
 
My Ride: SC/GLHS(2)/CSX
Engine: 2.2
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 6,618
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
   
Re: Is Factory Cruise Control On 87 T2 Shelby Daytona Possible?

I'm scratching my head over how the 87 Shelby Z logic module controls the cruise control...and I don't currently have any wiring diagrams for the 87 cruise control system in a G body. But one of the 86 CS cars being converted to T2 will have the 87 logic module.

...and now that you mention it, I do now recall seeing curise control servos mounted on the strut tower, those servo were a LOT smaller than the 86 style which is quite large.
ILIKESHELBYS is offline  
post #7 of 26 Old 01-15-2017, 03:10 PM
Hybrid Booster
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada
 
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 1,765
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Re: Is Factory Cruise Control On 87 T2 Shelby Daytona Possible?

I mounted my cruise servo rather crudely to a strut bolt but kept searching for a cleaner installation.

With an intercooled L body there is no room for a battery box bracket like 88-89 ?? Daytona's used but I noticed later models mounted it to the strut tower.

Unfortunately there isn't enough room in an L body to use that bracket.

I have noticed many cars have the dimples in the strut tower for the bracket so I'm guessing it was planned to be used before it was.

I'm assuming you're going for the factory 88-89 look with the battery box mount, but those brackets can be very hard to locate.

I haven't even looked in my cruise box for years but know for sure I don't have the battery box bracket as Todd was looking for one a while back.

From memory he posted a picture of that style when he was looking.

Thanks
Randy

86 GLH S60
86 GLHS 373
89 Turbo Minivan
83 Rampage Turbo
Glhs60 is offline  
post #8 of 26 Old 01-15-2017, 03:15 PM
Hybrid Booster
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada
 
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 1,765
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Re: Is Factory Cruise Control On 87 T2 Shelby Daytona Possible?

I believe these are Todds pics of the T-II cruise bracket.

Also I think 1989-90 VNT had this one.

Thanks
Randy
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	T-II CRUISE BRACKET A.jpg
Views:	36
Size:	93.1 KB
ID:	217457   Click image for larger version

Name:	T-II CRUISE BRACKET.jpg
Views:	32
Size:	96.2 KB
ID:	217465  
Glhs60 is offline  
post #9 of 26 Old 01-15-2017, 03:19 PM
Hybrid Booster
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada
 
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 1,765
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Re: Is Factory Cruise Control On 87 T2 Shelby Daytona Possible?

Strut tower cruise servo mount.

Thanks
Randy

Glhs60 is offline  
post #10 of 26 Old 01-15-2017, 06:30 PM Thread Starter
- OFFICIAL GEARHEAD -

 
ILIKESHELBYS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Roswell, GA
 
My Ride: SC/GLHS(2)/CSX
Engine: 2.2
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 6,618
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
   
Re: Is Factory Cruise Control On 87 T2 Shelby Daytona Possible?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Glhs60 View Post
Strut tower cruise servo mount.

Thanks
Randy

Yes, I have seen a few of those style in the yards...not as commonly this year as last. So that would be the computer controlled version I assume, could be made to work on the 87 logic module I would think. I did find a 93 Voyager in the yard today, the servo looks the same, bracket different but that's not important. I noticed it has 4 wire connector on it. I'm totally guessing here but I don't have an 87 shop manual with cruise control wiring schematic.

I did some advance searches and found these diagrams...

I believe this is the generic wiring for cruise control 86 style:

..and this seems to be the later cruise control wiring for 87 style:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	cruise-control-86.png
Views:	80
Size:	108.1 KB
ID:	217489   Click image for larger version

Name:	cruise-control-87.png
Views:	82
Size:	118.6 KB
ID:	217497  

Boost on...
Steven Seale


QUICK-FIT SHIFT RODS★ ~ ★A525/A555 CONVERSION BRACKET
QUICK-SHIFTER ★ ~ ★REBUILT TRANSMISSIONS★ ~ ★PT LIFTERS AND SHIMS
PROUD TO BE AN ACTIVE MEMBER OF THE TURBO DODGE ENTHUSIAST COMMUNITY
ILIKESHELBYS is offline  
post #11 of 26 Old 01-15-2017, 06:36 PM Thread Starter
- OFFICIAL GEARHEAD -

 
ILIKESHELBYS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Roswell, GA
 
My Ride: SC/GLHS(2)/CSX
Engine: 2.2
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 6,618
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
   
Re: Is Factory Cruise Control On 87 T2 Shelby Daytona Possible?

I grabbed the cruise control cable from the 93 Voyager today. It has the correct T2 style connector and end on it that I would need to use the standard T2 style throttle/cruise control cable bracket on the TB w/o any modifications, no fabrication. I don't know yet if its a good length yet. But if I can locate the appropriate cable to fit the 86 servo and that has the needed T2 style end on the TB side, I can avoid any wiring issues completely. I would then just need a suitable mounting system for the servo since the factory bracket just isn't going to work because of the lower intercooler hose.




Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	cruise-control-cable-1.png
Views:	77
Size:	117.4 KB
ID:	217505   Click image for larger version

Name:	cruise-control-cable-2.png
Views:	81
Size:	129.7 KB
ID:	217513  

Boost on...
Steven Seale


QUICK-FIT SHIFT RODS★ ~ ★A525/A555 CONVERSION BRACKET
QUICK-SHIFTER ★ ~ ★REBUILT TRANSMISSIONS★ ~ ★PT LIFTERS AND SHIMS
PROUD TO BE AN ACTIVE MEMBER OF THE TURBO DODGE ENTHUSIAST COMMUNITY
ILIKESHELBYS is offline  
post #12 of 26 Old 01-15-2017, 06:38 PM
Level 4 Supporter
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Wisconsin
 
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 989
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Re: Is Factory Cruise Control On 87 T2 Shelby Daytona Possible?

87 shelby lancer auto trans cal will run cruise control.
ajakeski is offline  
post #13 of 26 Old 01-15-2017, 07:13 PM Thread Starter
- OFFICIAL GEARHEAD -

 
ILIKESHELBYS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Roswell, GA
 
My Ride: SC/GLHS(2)/CSX
Engine: 2.2
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 6,618
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
   
Re: Is Factory Cruise Control On 87 T2 Shelby Daytona Possible?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Glhs60 View Post
I believe these are Todds pics of the T-II cruise bracket.

Also I think 1989-90 VNT had this one.

Thanks
Randy
Yes, here is a different shot of that bracket installed. 90 VNT car pictured...

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	90 VNT style cruise bracket.jpg
Views:	78
Size:	66.0 KB
ID:	217521  
ILIKESHELBYS is offline  
post #14 of 26 Old 01-20-2017, 05:30 PM
Hybrid Booster
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada
 
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 1,765
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Re: Is Factory Cruise Control On 87 T2 Shelby Daytona Possible?

I posted over on T-M and Gary figures the 1987 T-II LM would work.

Thanks
Randy


""Just try it.

I think it was just a packaging issue in 87 II.

Lots of TI boards came populated with TII hardware, I'm sure the "TII boards" had cruise control SMC on board.
"
Glhs60 is offline  
post #15 of 26 Old 01-20-2017, 07:41 PM Thread Starter
- OFFICIAL GEARHEAD -

 
ILIKESHELBYS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Roswell, GA
 
My Ride: SC/GLHS(2)/CSX
Engine: 2.2
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 6,618
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
   
Re: Is Factory Cruise Control On 87 T2 Shelby Daytona Possible?

Yes, I do have a T2 LM for that car's conversion. If I could make or find the needed bracket, the decision would be easier. I can give the Voyager cable a try on the car with the GLHS LM, that car is going to need some sort of custom mounting. The owner is very "must look stock" oriented. Having the pictures that have been contributed to the post has been a huge help BTW!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Glhs60 View Post
I posted over on T-M and Gary figures the 1987 T-II LM would work.

Thanks
Randy


""Just try it.

I think it was just a packaging issue in 87 II.

Lots of TI boards came populated with TII hardware, I'm sure the "TII boards" had cruise control SMC on board.
"
ILIKESHELBYS is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Turbo Dodge Forums : Turbo Dodge Forum for Turbo Mopars, Shelbys, Dodge Daytona, Dodge SRT-4, Chrysler PT Cruiser, Omni and more! forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Member names may only be composed of alpha-numeric characters. (A-Z and 0-9)

!!ATTENTION ADVERTISERS!! If you intend on advertising anything on this forum, whatsoever, you are required to first contact us here . Additionaly, we do NOT allow BUSINESS NAMES unless you are an Authorized Vendor. If you own a business, and want to do sales on this site via posting or private message, you will need to follow the rules. Shops, Stores, Distributors, Group Buys without being authorized will see your account terminated.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome