'86 Turbo Z digital dash odometer memory chip question.( Not working) - Turbo Dodge Forums : Turbo Dodge Forum for Turbo Mopars, Shelbys, Dodge Daytona, Dodge SRT-4, Chrysler PT Cruiser, Omni and more!
TurboDodge.com MarketPlace Shelby Registry Contact Us

Advertisement - Remove these ads today by clicking here.
Go Back   Turbo Dodge Forums : Turbo Dodge Forum for Turbo Mopars, Shelbys, Dodge Daytona, Dodge SRT-4, Chrysler PT Cruiser, Omni and more! > Turbo Dodge Technical Chat > Turbo Dodge Help


Turbo Dodge Help Urgent help when something goes wrong with your Dodge and you can't figure out what the problem is. Troubleshooting help and the place to post when you're stuck with a broken car and have to get to work the next day.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-05-2012, 11:18 PM   #1
'86 Turbo Z digital dash odometer memory chip question.( Not working)  
Hybrid Booster
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NY

My Ride: '86 Daytona Turbo Z
Engine: 2.2
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 1,452
Feedback: (22)
Images: 6
Mdniteracr1 is keeping the peace
86 Turbo Z. The digital dash is fully functional except the digital Odometer reading. Reads blanks like this ---------- . From what I read, this has to do with the odometer memory chip??. In the 86 Turbo Z's , am I able to get another used chip to put in it? It really sucks though cause the car only has 63,000 miles on it. Now with the chip down, I cant even prove the car has low mileage. Any suggestions on what I can do ? How to see if it is in fact a memory chip issue.
Where is the chip located anyway ? lol
Any pics, tips, tricks would be deeply appreciated !!
Thanks
Mdniteracr1 is offline  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share on facebook
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-06-2012, 12:38 PM   #2
Re: '86 Turbo Z digital dash odometer memory chip question.( Not working)  
Hybrid Booster
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NY

My Ride: '86 Daytona Turbo Z
Engine: 2.2
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 1,452
Feedback: (22)
Images: 6
Mdniteracr1 is keeping the peace
Bump
Mdniteracr1 is offline  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-06-2012, 01:50 PM   #3
Re: '86 Turbo Z digital dash odometer memory chip question.( Not working)  
ENTER 4 APRIL COTM!

 
yellonoma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Lower Sackville, NS, Canada

My Ride: 89 Daytona Shelby TT
Engine: 2.5 TII
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 3,049
Feedback: (7)
yellonoma is keeping the peace
The odo info is stored on a IC chip, but I do not know which one. There had been discussion about this not too long ago, I think someone was trying to get ahold of a new one but the IC numbers were obselete. Sorry not to be much help!
yellonoma is offline  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-06-2012, 02:00 PM   #4
Re: '86 Turbo Z digital dash odometer memory chip question.( Not working)  
Hybrid Booster
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NY

My Ride: '86 Daytona Turbo Z
Engine: 2.2
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 1,452
Feedback: (22)
Images: 6
Mdniteracr1 is keeping the peace
Quote:
Originally Posted by yellonoma View Post
The odo info is stored on a IC chip, but I do not know which one. There had been discussion about this not too long ago, I think someone was trying to get ahold of a new one but the IC numbers were obselete. Sorry not to be much help!
I think I read that '87-up you have to buy a whole new digital cluster. But being that mine is an 86 Turbo Z, I should be able to change chips?
Mdniteracr1 is offline  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-06-2012, 07:24 PM   #5
Re: '86 Turbo Z digital dash odometer memory chip question.( Not working)  
TD New Guy
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Long Island, NY

My Ride: 86 Daytona Turbo Z
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 31
Feedback: (0)
Marc is keeping the peace
Here you go Dave
Attached Thumbnails
'86 Turbo Z digital dash odometer memory chip question.( Not working)-img001.jpg  
Marc is online now  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-06-2012, 07:32 PM   #6
Re: '86 Turbo Z digital dash odometer memory chip question.( Not working)  
Boostaholic
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Western Montana

My Ride: 88 Shelby Z
Engine: 2.2 TII
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 958
Feedback: (23)
DartGTS340 is keeping the peace
There's a window in the housing to access it and it's the only socketed chip so it's easy to identify.
DartGTS340 is offline  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-06-2012, 07:53 PM   #7
Re: '86 Turbo Z digital dash odometer memory chip question.( Not working)  
Hybrid Booster
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NY

My Ride: '86 Daytona Turbo Z
Engine: 2.2
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 1,452
Feedback: (22)
Images: 6
Mdniteracr1 is keeping the peace
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marc View Post
Here you go Dave
Sweet !!! Just what I was looking for !! Thanks Marc
Mdniteracr1 is offline  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-06-2012, 07:55 PM   #8
Smile Re: '86 Turbo Z digital dash odometer memory chip question.( Not working)  
Hybrid Booster
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NY

My Ride: '86 Daytona Turbo Z
Engine: 2.2
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 1,452
Feedback: (22)
Images: 6
Mdniteracr1 is keeping the peace
Quote:
Originally Posted by DartGTS340 View Post
There's a window in the housing to access it and it's the only socketed chip so it's easy to identify.
Thanks Dart !! This sounds easy. Question is... How hard is it to find a used chip? lol Guess I have to start a thread looking for a memory chip
Mdniteracr1 is offline  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-07-2012, 07:43 AM   #9
Re: '86 Turbo Z digital dash odometer memory chip question.( Not working)  
ENTER 4 APRIL COTM!

 
yellonoma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Lower Sackville, NS, Canada

My Ride: 89 Daytona Shelby TT
Engine: 2.5 TII
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 3,049
Feedback: (7)
yellonoma is keeping the peace
To cool, thanks for that scan Dave.

Hopefully somebody has kept a bad cluster, I would put up a wanted ad not for an odo chip, but rather a bad cluster that won't power up/display anymore.
yellonoma is offline  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-07-2012, 09:07 AM   #10
Re: '86 Turbo Z digital dash odometer memory chip question.( Not working)  
Garrett Booster
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Huntsville, AL

My Ride: 1985 laser xe
Engine: 2,2 Turbo I
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 159
Feedback: (1)
schrenkma is keeping the peace
i tried for a while to find one and had no luck. i bought another working cluster. let me know too if you find a source.
schrenkma is offline  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-07-2012, 11:41 AM   #11
Re: '86 Turbo Z digital dash odometer memory chip question.( Not working)  
dme
Boostaholic
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: dfw,texas

My Ride: 90 & 94 Voyager
Engine: 2.5T/3.0
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 389
Feedback: (0)
dme is keeping the peace
You should try removing and reinserting the chip. It could be a bad contact and a cheap easy fix. Start easy/cheap and go from there.
dme is offline  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-07-2012, 11:48 AM   #12
Re: '86 Turbo Z digital dash odometer memory chip question.( Not working)  
TD New Guy
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Salt Lake City

My Ride: 1986 Daytona Z
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 4
Feedback: (0)
woodrowZ is keeping the peace
Huge might. But I MIGHT have an old cluster. Also won't be able to check till I make it back up to my parents house where it might be. If I still have it it's yours.
woodrowZ is offline  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-07-2012, 12:32 PM   #13
Re: '86 Turbo Z digital dash odometer memory chip question.( Not working)  
Hybrid Booster
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NY

My Ride: '86 Daytona Turbo Z
Engine: 2.2
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 1,452
Feedback: (22)
Images: 6
Mdniteracr1 is keeping the peace
Quote:
Originally Posted by schrenkma View Post
i tried for a while to find one and had no luck. i bought another working cluster. let me know too if you find a source.
Will do!! keep in touch
Mdniteracr1 is offline  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-07-2012, 12:34 PM   #14
Thumbs up Re: '86 Turbo Z digital dash odometer memory chip question.( Not working)  
Hybrid Booster
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NY

My Ride: '86 Daytona Turbo Z
Engine: 2.2
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 1,452
Feedback: (22)
Images: 6
Mdniteracr1 is keeping the peace
Quote:
Originally Posted by dme View Post
You should try removing and reinserting the chip. It could be a bad contact and a cheap easy fix. Start easy/cheap and go from there.
Ok, will do that. Easy enough to do lol . I will let you know how it works out. Thanks bro!
Mdniteracr1 is offline  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-07-2012, 12:37 PM   #15
Smile Re: '86 Turbo Z digital dash odometer memory chip question.( Not working)  
Hybrid Booster
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NY

My Ride: '86 Daytona Turbo Z
Engine: 2.2
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 1,452
Feedback: (22)
Images: 6
Mdniteracr1 is keeping the peace
Quote:
Originally Posted by woodrowZ View Post
Huge might. But I MIGHT have an old cluster. Also won't be able to check till I make it back up to my parents house where it might be. If I still have it it's yours.
Thanks man! In the meantime I will take the advise from a fellow TD'r and see if it is sitting correctly in there. Let me know if you have a spare digital cluster anyway. I will keep in touch
Mdniteracr1 is offline  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Turbo Dodge Forums : Turbo Dodge Forum for Turbo Mopars, Shelbys, Dodge Daytona, Dodge SRT-4, Chrysler PT Cruiser, Omni and more! forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Member names may only be composed of alpha-numeric characters. (A-Z and 0-9)

!!ATTENTION ADVERTISERS!! If you intend on advertising anything on this forum, whatsoever, you are required to first contact us here . Additionaly, we do NOT allow BUSINESS NAMES unless you are an Authorized Vendor. If you own a business, and want to do sales on this site via posting or private message, you will need to follow the rules. Shops, Stores, Distributors, Group Buys without being authorized will see your account terminated.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.3.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:23 AM.