What is the best forged piston and aftermarket rod ? - Turbo Dodge Forums : Turbo Dodge Forum for Turbo Mopars, Shelbys, Dodge Daytona, Dodge SRT-4, Chrysler PT Cruiser, Omni and more!

Engine - Turbo & Block Modifications and upgrades to maximize your Dodges turbo output & Improving strength and durability - pistons to crank.

1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 24 Old 04-21-2017, 09:34 PM Thread Starter
TD New Guy

1/4: 0.000

What is the best forged piston and aftermarket rod ?

Looking to build a bottom end that is capable of 500 plus horsepower. What is the best after market piston and rod to use. I am going to use a forged 2.2 crankshaft to build a 2.2
I looked at the usual vendors. Of course they have different opinions. What is a proven combination. The car will be a street strip car. Hobby car not daily driver. I have experience with JE in V8's and like them. I have no experience with them in a turbo Dodge.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 24 Old 04-21-2017, 11:48 PM
Hybrid Booster

Re: What is the best forged piston and aftermarket rod ?

I think any of the forged pistons available are fine, Wiseco have very thin rings that are normally included.

Some are available with larger pins.

I think most aftermarket rods are actually for 2.4's and require 2.4 bearings.

The difference is small but the tangs are in a different spot to keep from using 2.2 bearings by mistake.

I don't think aftermarket rods are any better but that's just my opinion, and everyone has one of them!!

Thanks
Randy
post #3 of 24 Old 04-22-2017, 10:49 AM
- OFFICIAL GEARHEAD -

My Ride: CSX/CS/GLHS
Engine: 2.2
Induct: Turbo