90+ Lebaron digital dash - Page 6 - Turbo Dodge Forums : Turbo Dodge Forum for Turbo Mopars, Shelbys, Dodge Daytona, Dodge SRT-4, Chrysler PT Cruiser, Omni and more!
TurboDodge.com MarketPlace Shelby Registry Contact Us

Advertisement - Remove these ads today by clicking here.
Go Back   Turbo Dodge Forums : Turbo Dodge Forum for Turbo Mopars, Shelbys, Dodge Daytona, Dodge SRT-4, Chrysler PT Cruiser, Omni and more! > Turbo Dodge Technical Chat > Engine Management, Fuel, Spark, EGTs, and Air/Fuel Ratios


Engine Management, Fuel, Spark, EGTs, and Air/Fuel Ratios This forum includes general electrical, modification, tuning, repair, replacement, identification and restoration of all components mentioned above including SMEC, SBEC, Logic Modules, aftermarket engine management, etc. Nitrous oxide posts go in here. This is the place

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-05-2012, 04:41 PM   #76
Re: 90+ Lebaron digital dash  
TD New Guy
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Netherlands

My Ride: Chrysler lebaron 3.0
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 48
Feedback: (0)
laurp is keeping the peace
nope, all you need is a 1990 or 1991 LeBaron and the BCM and the digidash from a '90 or '91. The harness is not required.
Do save the connectors from the old dash if you like te restore later.
Do you need a manual to do the switch?
laurp is offline  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-05-2012, 07:43 PM   #77
Re: 90+ Lebaron digital dash  
Das Beste Oder Nichts

 
92TurboTona's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: North Of St Louis

My Ride: 92 Daytona
Engine: 2.5L T1
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 5,916
Feedback: (31)
92TurboTona is ready to make a name for oneself
Also forgot to mention its going in my 92 daytona
92TurboTona is offline  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-05-2012, 09:42 PM   #78
Re: 90+ Lebaron digital dash  
Boostaholic
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: 23666

My Ride: '91 Daytona
Engine: 2.5L TI
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 315
Feedback: (1)
bamman is keeping the peace
A 90-91 digital dash will not work in a 92. The communication bus is different.
bamman is offline  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-05-2012, 10:07 PM   #79
Re: 90+ Lebaron digital dash  
Das Beste Oder Nichts

 
92TurboTona's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: North Of St Louis

My Ride: 92 Daytona
Engine: 2.5L T1
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 5,916
Feedback: (31)
92TurboTona is ready to make a name for oneself
even if i have the 90-91 bcm to go with the dash and i also have the 90/91 turbo ecm for proper bus communications
92TurboTona is offline  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-06-2012, 09:45 AM   #80
Re: 90+ Lebaron digital dash  
Boostaholic
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: 23666

My Ride: '91 Daytona
Engine: 2.5L TI
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 315
Feedback: (1)
bamman is keeping the peace
You'd be the first to try to swap a SBEC-II ecu for a standard SBEC just for the sake of keeping the original communication bus for use in the digital cluster.

It has been proposed before but not done. Even if you could swap out the ECU, which I think you can, you'd run into a few problems. I think ShelGame pointed out that a few pins on the bulkhead disconnect would have to be changed and that the cruise control wiring changed.

Another problem is that in an earlier post I think somebody mentioned the pinouts to the BCM changed from the 90/91 setup to the 92+ setup. I looked at both the 91 and the 92 wiring diagrams but saw no such change. Again, I just quickly looked so you'd have to double check to be sure.

It would definitely be a much more interesting swap. Keep us posted on your progress.
bamman is offline  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-06-2012, 10:44 AM   #81
Re: 90+ Lebaron digital dash  
Das Beste Oder Nichts

 
92TurboTona's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: North Of St Louis

My Ride: 92 Daytona
Engine: 2.5L T1
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 5,916
Feedback: (31)
92TurboTona is ready to make a name for oneself
yea, i am going to use a 90 harness with a 91 hi torque computer with a custom cal and use the 90 digi dash with the 90 Bcm

the engine harness has been custom made for a 92+ setup as the pins have already been swapped around and cruise control loss is no biggie

i will keep you guys up to date with this, but first i need to get the digi dash shipped to me LOL
92TurboTona is offline  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-06-2012, 09:17 PM   #82
Re: 90+ Lebaron digital dash  
Boostaholic
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: 23666

My Ride: '91 Daytona
Engine: 2.5L TI
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 315
Feedback: (1)
bamman is keeping the peace
It would be more cost effective to just get the computer re-programmed so the CCD bus communicates at 90-91 standards... if that is possible. Then you wouldn't have to do the harness swap or purchase the new computer. Looking at the 91 configurations vs the 92 configuration, it looks possible. If you are getting a computer from Shelgame ask him.
bamman is offline  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-06-2012, 09:53 PM   #83
Re: 90+ Lebaron digital dash  
Das Beste Oder Nichts

 
92TurboTona's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: North Of St Louis

My Ride: 92 Daytona
Engine: 2.5L T1
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 5,916
Feedback: (31)
92TurboTona is ready to make a name for oneself
i already have a stock 91 ECM sitting in my cabinet in my garage and pretty soon i will have a 91 body computer, and i have no problem running more wires if needed and repin the body computer plugs, would just need the correct diagrams
92TurboTona is offline  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-07-2012, 02:28 AM   #84
Re: 90+ Lebaron digital dash  
TD New Guy
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Netherlands

My Ride: Chrysler lebaron 3.0
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 48
Feedback: (0)
laurp is keeping the peace
the diagrams are availlable on this site.
Otherwise you could try RAJ, also a member here and a collector of diagrams.
Good luck with the swap.
laurp is offline  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-07-2012, 10:21 AM   #85
Re: 90+ Lebaron digital dash  
Boostaholic
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: 23666

My Ride: '91 Daytona
Engine: 2.5L TI
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 315
Feedback: (1)
bamman is keeping the peace
The only other thing I'd like to add that people like to forget with this swap is that you need to supply the BCM with three 12v switched power sources on the Z05 circuit on the natural connector. If you don't your dash will work but the temp and oil pressure gauge will flash warning lights and show out of range.

Another tip is that when you tap the CCD bus and run the wiring, you should twist the wires at least once every six inches to prevent crosstalk. I've never really heard of anyone running into that problem but nonetheless the factory twisted these wires for a reason.

Other than that, it's a pretty simple swap. Good luck.
bamman is offline  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-07-2012, 11:24 AM   #86
Re: 90+ Lebaron digital dash  
Das Beste Oder Nichts

 
92TurboTona's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: North Of St Louis

My Ride: 92 Daytona
Engine: 2.5L T1
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 5,916
Feedback: (31)
92TurboTona is ready to make a name for oneself
okay i will look into that when i start this project
92TurboTona is offline  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Turbo Dodge Forums : Turbo Dodge Forum for Turbo Mopars, Shelbys, Dodge Daytona, Dodge SRT-4, Chrysler PT Cruiser, Omni and more! forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Member names may only be composed of alpha-numeric characters. (A-Z and 0-9)

!!ATTENTION ADVERTISERS!! If you intend on advertising anything on this forum, whatsoever, you are required to first contact us here . Additionaly, we do NOT allow BUSINESS NAMES unless you are an Authorized Vendor. If you own a business, and want to do sales on this site via posting or private message, you will need to follow the rules. Shops, Stores, Distributors, Group Buys without being authorized will see your account terminated.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.3.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:11 PM.