1987 Shelby Charger Stage 2 Logic - Turbo Dodge Forums : Turbo Dodge Forum for Turbo Mopars, Shelbys, Dodge Daytona, Dodge SRT-4, Chrysler PT Cruiser, Omni and more!
TurboDodge.com MarketPlace Shelby Registry Contact Us

Advertisement - Remove these ads today by clicking here.
Go Back   Turbo Dodge Forums : Turbo Dodge Forum for Turbo Mopars, Shelbys, Dodge Daytona, Dodge SRT-4, Chrysler PT Cruiser, Omni and more! > Turbo Dodge Technical Chat > Engine Management, Fuel, Spark, EGTs, and Air/Fuel Ratios


Engine Management, Fuel, Spark, EGTs, and Air/Fuel Ratios This forum includes general electrical, modification, tuning, repair, replacement, identification and restoration of all components mentioned above including SMEC, SBEC, Logic Modules, aftermarket engine management, etc. Nitrous oxide posts go in here. This is the place

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-23-2012, 11:44 AM   #1
Exclamation 1987 Shelby Charger Stage 2 Logic  
TD New Guy
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Oak Hill WV

My Ride: 1987 Shelby Charger
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 19
Feedback: (0)
Hillbilly1987 is keeping the peace
I'm recently sent my computer to get recalibrated. I accidentally got a 1987 stage 2. And the 87 shelby uses an 86 logic.
No biggie. I'm fairly good on electrical systems. I added a few pins to the logic mod plug ins and moved a few wires so it would work with my 86 electrical system. I used the map sensor plug off of a stock burned up computer to pin in.
It works. And runs clean. Not running rich or lean (by my mixture gauge).
But the car idles at 2000. I am not sure why. The only thing that I can think of is that I am using the map sensor that is inside the cab.
What is the difference in the one in the cab and one under the hood. Would that be the problem? Any ideas what would cause this problem?
Hillbilly1987 is offline  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share on facebook
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-23-2012, 12:34 PM   #2
Re: 1987 Shelby Charger Stage 2 Logic  
Legendary Driver
 
GLHNSLHT2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Spokane, Wa

My Ride: 85 GLHT, 87 ShelbyZ,
Engine: 2.2 T2 and 2.5 T2
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 13.882

Posts: 9,896
Feedback: (5)
GLHNSLHT2 has really helped outGLHNSLHT2 has really helped out
87 T1 or 87 T2 logic mod? It might not like the T1 AIS?
GLHNSLHT2 is online now  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-23-2012, 12:51 PM   #3
Re: 1987 Shelby Charger Stage 2 Logic  
TD New Guy
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Oak Hill WV

My Ride: 1987 Shelby Charger
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 19
Feedback: (0)
Hillbilly1987 is keeping the peace
It's a 87 turbo 1 logic.
Hillbilly1987 is offline  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-23-2012, 12:54 PM   #4
Re: 1987 Shelby Charger Stage 2 Logic  
TD New Guy
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Oak Hill WV

My Ride: 1987 Shelby Charger
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 19
Feedback: (0)
Hillbilly1987 is keeping the peace
It is ais but i don't know what that is.
Hillbilly1987 is offline  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-23-2012, 01:50 PM   #5
Re: 1987 Shelby Charger Stage 2 Logic  
Garrett Booster
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: MD, Just South of Baltimore

My Ride: 93 Daytona IROC
Engine: 3.0
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 230
Feedback: (0)
JT84 is keeping the peace
AIS = Automatic Idle Speed motor, your current one is a two wire and the new LM needs the four wire kind found on the 87 and up throttlebodys. The only way I know how get one to work is by changing to the 87 up one piece or two piece intake manifold. For now you might have to mess with the idle adjustment screw.
JT84 is offline  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-23-2012, 03:06 PM   #6
Re: 1987 Shelby Charger Stage 2 Logic  
TD New Guy
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Oak Hill WV

My Ride: 1987 Shelby Charger
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 19
Feedback: (0)
Hillbilly1987 is keeping the peace
Yea I done a lil reading on ais before I checked back. I still didn't know that 87 had a 4 wire. I can't find any extra AIS pins on 87 computer. So I don't know how to correct it besides with an 87 ais. All the air is sucking through the small hole on top of the tb.
Hillbilly1987 is offline  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-23-2012, 03:17 PM   #7
Re: 1987 Shelby Charger Stage 2 Logic  
Garrett Booster
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: MD, Just South of Baltimore

My Ride: 93 Daytona IROC
Engine: 3.0
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 230
Feedback: (0)
JT84 is keeping the peace
Until you can convert your car to T2 status (if that is something you want to do) you will need to adjust the idle manually and keep the current AIS unhooked. Or go back to your old computer.
JT84 is offline  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-24-2012, 03:58 PM   #8
Re: 1987 Shelby Charger Stage 2 Logic  
TD New Guy
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Oak Hill WV

My Ride: 1987 Shelby Charger
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 19
Feedback: (0)
Hillbilly1987 is keeping the peace
I only see one plug on the tab and it doesn't seem to change any thing with it unplugged.
Hillbilly1987 is offline  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-24-2012, 04:06 PM   #9
Re: 1987 Shelby Charger Stage 2 Logic  
Garrett Booster
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: MD, Just South of Baltimore

My Ride: 93 Daytona IROC
Engine: 3.0
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 230
Feedback: (0)
JT84 is keeping the peace
Are you talking about the plug that the current AIS goes into? If so then unplugging it won't do anything with the idle speed it will just stop the computer from sending the AIS the wrong signal so it doesn't burn it up. ( not even sure if it will but better safe than sorry) and the TPS runs through that connector as well so you don't want to unplug it but rather remove the two AIS wires from it.
JT84 is offline  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-24-2012, 04:21 PM   #10
Re: 1987 Shelby Charger Stage 2 Logic  
Garrett Booster
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: MD, Just South of Baltimore

My Ride: 93 Daytona IROC
Engine: 3.0
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 230
Feedback: (0)
JT84 is keeping the peace
On the throttle body behind the black cap as seen in the picture is the idle screw that needs to be adjusted to bring the idle down.

JT84 is offline  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-25-2012, 09:12 AM   #11
Re: 1987 Shelby Charger Stage 2 Logic  
- OFFICIAL GEARHEAD -

 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Houghton MI !frosty nights!

My Ride: Ram HFE/Omni/SL/XR7
Engine: 2.5 TII, SMEC, .60/.63, 2-piece, 52mm, no B/S ;)
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 13.800

Posts: 8,187
Feedback: (96)
detobias is keeping our cars running
back to OP-

I doubt the problem is tha cab-mounted MAP;

high idle means excess air is coming in somewhere...
usually either a vacuum leak or an AIS issue

first check all vacuum lines and tees;
replace any/all that are suspect;
make sure all caps are present (no open vacuum taps)

then I'd remove throttle body, remove AIS, clean all thoroughly..

Quote:
Originally Posted by JT84 View Post
Until you can convert your car to T2 status (if that is something you want to do) you will need to adjust the idle manually and keep the current AIS unhooked. Or go back to your old computer.
none of these choices really helps the issue

OP is trying to convert 86 style *TI* wiring to 87 style *TI* wiring ..
to accommodate the 87 LM he has (no longer has his 86 LM)
detobias is offline  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-25-2012, 09:26 AM   #12
Re: 1987 Shelby Charger Stage 2 Logic  
TD New Guy
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Oak Hill WV

My Ride: 1987 Shelby Charger
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 19
Feedback: (0)
Hillbilly1987 is keeping the peace
From what I am understanding, I'm going to need a 4 wire ais? I still have the 2 wire and lots and lots of air is coming through the small hole on top of the tb
Hillbilly1987 is offline  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-25-2012, 10:11 AM   #13
Re: 1987 Shelby Charger Stage 2 Logic  
Garrett Booster
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: MD, Just South of Baltimore

My Ride: 93 Daytona IROC
Engine: 3.0
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 230
Feedback: (0)
JT84 is keeping the peace
Quote:
Originally Posted by detobias View Post
back to OP-

I doubt the problem is tha cab-mounted MAP;

high idle means excess air is coming in somewhere...
usually either a vacuum leak or an AIS issue

first check all vacuum lines and tees;
replace any/all that are suspect;
make sure all caps are present (no open vacuum taps)

then I'd remove throttle body, remove AIS, clean all thoroughly..

none of these choices really helps the issue

OP is trying to convert 86 style *TI* wiring to 87 style *TI* wiring ..
to accommodate the 87 LM he has (no longer has his 86 LM)

The problem is that an 87 LM is trying to control an 86 AIS which will not happen. Adjusting the idle screw is just a bandaid to get the idle down until he can convert it to T2 status.
JT84 is offline  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-25-2012, 10:23 AM   #14
Re: 1987 Shelby Charger Stage 2 Logic  
- OFFICIAL GEARHEAD -

 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Houghton MI !frosty nights!

My Ride: Ram HFE/Omni/SL/XR7
Engine: 2.5 TII, SMEC, .60/.63, 2-piece, 52mm, no B/S ;)
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 13.800

Posts: 8,187
Feedback: (96)
detobias is keeping our cars running
87 & 86 TI are both 2-wire AIS, with the same pins on the LM ..

The 1987 T1 Logic Module - MiniMopar Resources
1986 Turbo I Logic Module - MiniMopar Resources

Quote:
Originally Posted by JT84 View Post
The problem is that an 87 LM is trying to control an 86 AIS which will not happen.
please explain why ?
detobias is offline  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-25-2012, 10:25 AM   #15
Re: 1987 Shelby Charger Stage 2 Logic  
TD New Guy
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Oak Hill WV

My Ride: 1987 Shelby Charger
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 19
Feedback: (0)
Hillbilly1987 is keeping the peace
That is the same thing I found. I didn't even have to repin the ais.
Hillbilly1987 is offline  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Tags
1987, charger, idle, logic, problem, shelby, stage 2

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Turbo Dodge Forums : Turbo Dodge Forum for Turbo Mopars, Shelbys, Dodge Daytona, Dodge SRT-4, Chrysler PT Cruiser, Omni and more! forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Member names may only be composed of alpha-numeric characters. (A-Z and 0-9)

!!ATTENTION ADVERTISERS!! If you intend on advertising anything on this forum, whatsoever, you are required to first contact us here . Additionaly, we do NOT allow BUSINESS NAMES unless you are an Authorized Vendor. If you own a business, and want to do sales on this site via posting or private message, you will need to follow the rules. Shops, Stores, Distributors, Group Buys without being authorized will see your account terminated.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.3.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:13 PM.