Turbo Dodge Forums banner

tune help

1K views 14 replies 6 participants last post by  NAJ 
#1 ·
I have an 86 omni glh t2 with a 20g turbo, .480 lift .460 duration cam, swirl head with exhaust porting, 1 piece intake , fwd performance chipped ecu, and stock injectors.
I am new to the turbo dodge world. I was told that car is close to a super 60 setup and a super 60 tune would work. I have no idea what chip is in my ecu . My question is what is my best options for a tune because as of now car won't idle and doesn't run very well at all.

#4 ·
Is a wideband installed?

Best option would be tuning it yourself.

Covert to 87 TII wiring first.

Then

MPTuner

Bin files you'll need.
Turbonator LM codebase

You'll need to get a 87 LM socketed, get a chip extender cable, and a ortisch for real time tuning. You'll also need a wideband sensor installed.

https://www.moates.net/ostrich-20-the-new-breed-p-169.html?cPath=95

https://www.moates.net/emuc2818-emulation-cable-28pin-18inch-p-64.html
or
https://www.moates.net/emuc2806-emulation-cable-28pin-6inch-p-133.html

and

http://www.boostbutton.com/catalog/product_info.php?cPath=34_36&products_id=71

#8 ·
What is your Wideband reading?
What is Engine Vacuum reading at a Manifold Source and at the Map Sensor?

I am only asking because your symptoms sound exactly like the symptoms a friend of mine had after he replaced the Cam in his car with a Larger Lift/Duration Cam.
His car was completely different from yours(73 Mustang 351) but same symptoms, car would not idle, had to keep RPM's up just to keep the car running.

#11 · (Edited)