Resetting code on Pioneer DEX-77 - Turbo Dodge Forums : Turbo Dodge Forum for Turbo Mopars, Shelbys, Dodge Daytona, Dodge SRT-4, Chrysler PT Cruiser, Omni and more!
TurboDodge.com MarketPlace Shelby Registry Contact Us

Advertisement - Remove these ads today by clicking here.
Go Back   Turbo Dodge Forums : Turbo Dodge Forum for Turbo Mopars, Shelbys, Dodge Daytona, Dodge SRT-4, Chrysler PT Cruiser, Omni and more! > Turbo Dodge Technical Chat > Electrical

Electrical Help and Discussion area for any Electrical issues/diagrams.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-29-2007, 05:33 PM   #1
Resetting code on Pioneer DEX-77  
TD New Guy
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Färingtofta, Sweden

My Ride: Audi 100, 200, 200.
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 9
Feedback: (0)
sm7xvd is keeping the peace
I recently purchased a car with one of these mounted. Previous owner does not know the code, and it is not factory "0000".
I noticed that particular unit has been discussed here before, but the aswer was to be given in form of a service manual. This manual does not seem to be very widely available, so does anyone here have it?
I got one service manual from another place, but it does not mention anything about resetting the code.
sm7xvd is offline  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share on facebook
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-29-2007, 07:18 PM   #2
 
TD Hardcore User!
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Avon Park Fl

My Ride: 92 Iroc R/T Red
Engine: TIII
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 3,600
Feedback: (10)
charger R/T is keeping our cars running
here is an old thread down near the bottom may be the answer you ask for.
http://www.turbododge.com/forums/f4/...-77-radio.html
Tim
charger R/T is offline  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-30-2007, 03:50 AM   #3
 
TD New Guy
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Färingtofta, Sweden

My Ride: Audi 100, 200, 200.
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 9
Feedback: (0)
sm7xvd is keeping the peace
Yes, that is the thread i was referring to.
However what's mentioned there presumes you know the old code.
sm7xvd is offline  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-30-2007, 03:59 PM   #4
 
Garrett Booster
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: orlando florida

My Ride: 04 e-blue SRT4
Engine: 2.4
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 13.130

Posts: 228
Feedback: (0)
lancer117 is keeping the peace
Quote:
Originally Posted by sm7xvd
Yes, that is the thread i was referring to.
However what's mentioned there presumes you know the old code.

you will not be able to change that code without getting the radio re-chiped .you must have the old code to get into the radio without that you are S.O.l .let me know if you fing anything out . it sucks driving aroud in a car that has a radio , but does not work.
lancer117 is offline  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-30-2007, 06:55 PM   #5
 
TD Hardcore User!
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Avon Park Fl

My Ride: 92 Iroc R/T Red
Engine: TIII
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 3,600
Feedback: (10)
charger R/T is keeping our cars running
according to the thread I linked it says in post 3 the lost code can be easily reset. Later in the thread Ken posts the procedure.
Tim
charger R/T is offline  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-30-2007, 08:46 PM   #6
 
Garrett Booster
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: orlando florida

My Ride: 04 e-blue SRT4
Engine: 2.4
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 13.130

Posts: 228
Feedback: (0)
lancer117 is keeping the peace
Quote:
Originally Posted by charger R/T
according to the thread I linked it says in post 3 the lost code can be easily reset. Later in the thread Ken posts the procedure.
Tim

its not as easy as it seems , trust me . if it was that easy i would have had my radio working a year ago . i'am not saying its not impossable , but its not that easy . if you find anything out let me know . thanks
lancer117 is offline  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-30-2007, 09:16 PM   #7
 
TD Hardcore User!
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Avon Park Fl

My Ride: 92 Iroc R/T Red
Engine: TIII
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 3,600
Feedback: (10)
charger R/T is keeping our cars running
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShelbyMotorspts




A lost code can easily be changed on these radios. No circuitry needs replacing and the radio can still be mounted in the car. Instructions for changing the code are in the Factory Pioneer Service/Repair Manual.

Pioneer discontinued these service manuals years ago but I have some reproductions for $20 They are a two manual set. (See pic below)

http://www.photobucket.com/albums/06...s/8d2c5ae0.jpg

If you're interested in the manuals please email me at:

shelbymotorsports@att.net

You may also want to check with Ken Adler as I think I sent him the instructions for changing the security code last year. At least I think it was Ken but I could be wrong.

Steve
Have you viewed the service manual? Steve posted a few years ago he had copies and it is as easy as pushing buttons to change the code if you don't have the code. I don't have one of these radios so I can't try what is posted. But if I did have one I would at least contact him.
Tim
charger R/T is offline  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-30-2007, 10:02 PM   #8
 
Garrett Booster
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: orlando florida

My Ride: 04 e-blue SRT4
Engine: 2.4
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 13.130

Posts: 228
Feedback: (0)
lancer117 is keeping the peace
yes i have got a copy of this service manual , i got it from pioneer . nothing on there is going to help me out without the code .
lancer117 is offline  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-01-2007, 01:02 AM   #9
 
TD Hardcore User!
 
Turbo Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: anywhere

1/4: 0.000

Posts: 2,330
Feedback: (5)
Images: 23
Turbo Joe is keeping the peace
honestly, I would've started with 0001 and work my way up. That is untill I got sick of it and bought a new radio.. have you tried to remove the radio to see if anyone wrote the code on the back of the radio? sometimes those radios get serviced and someone writes the code on it. worth a try..
Turbo Joe is offline  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-01-2007, 10:57 AM   #10
 
Garrett Booster
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: orlando florida

My Ride: 04 e-blue SRT4
Engine: 2.4
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 13.130

Posts: 228
Feedback: (0)
lancer117 is keeping the peace
Quote:
Originally Posted by Turbo Joe
honestly, I would've started with 0001 and work my way up. That is untill I got sick of it and bought a new radio.. have you tried to remove the radio to see if anyone wrote the code on the back of the radio? sometimes those radios get serviced and someone writes the code on it. worth a try..

well if you enter the code wrong three times it will lock up of three hours . after the three hours you can retry it . well i have tried to remove mine and there was nothing on the back .
lancer117 is offline  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-01-2007, 01:21 PM   #11
 
TD New Guy
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Färingtofta, Sweden

My Ride: Audi 100, 200, 200.
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 9
Feedback: (0)
sm7xvd is keeping the peace
The service manual i got offers no solution, nothing is written on the unit. I have it connected to a lead acid battery on the workbench.
I've tried some numbers associated with the car, but with no luck. And as lancer117 says it will lock up for three hours after three unsuccessful attempts.
sm7xvd is offline  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-01-2007, 05:39 PM   #12
 
Garrett Booster
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: orlando florida

My Ride: 04 e-blue SRT4
Engine: 2.4
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 13.130

Posts: 228
Feedback: (0)
lancer117 is keeping the peace
Quote:
Originally Posted by sm7xvd
The service manual i got offers no solution, nothing is written on the unit. I have it connected to a lead acid battery on the workbench.
I've tried some numbers associated with the car, but with no luck. And as lancer117 says it will lock up for three hours after three unsuccessful attempts.

good luck , i havent gave up on mine yet . i still want to try to find some way to fix it
lancer117 is offline  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-08-2007, 07:32 PM   #13
Re: Resetting code on Pioneer DEX-77  
TD New Guy
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: california

My Ride: 87 shelby lancer
Engine: 2.2 t2
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 39
Feedback: (0)
moparman7 is keeping the peace
Has anyone here ever had one of these repaired with the code problem? if so what did it cost? for i have one with the same problem in shelby lancer #21 it worked fine but sat with battery unhooked for a few years and the code it had in it does not work any more.:(
moparman7 is offline  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-08-2007, 07:54 PM   #14
Re: Resetting code on Pioneer DEX-77  
TD Hardcore User!
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: St. Louis

My Ride: 85 GTS, 3 87 GTS, 89
Engine: 2.2
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 3,172
Feedback: (6)
Images: 5
looneytuner is keeping the peace
Hi Ken

Here's how to reprogram the DEX-77 with a new security code.

1) Turn the radio on.
2) Press and hold both volume control buttons at the same time.
3) Within one minute of holding both volume control buttons down you
will see the word "CODE" flash on the radios display. Release the volume
buttons when this happens.
4) Using the oval numbered buttons below the display and enter a four
digit security code.
Numerals 0 to 5 are clearly marked.
Numeral 6 is the "R-Play" button.
Numeral 7 is the "M-Play" button.
Numeral 8 is the "Volume -" button.
Numeral 9 is the "Volume +" button.
5) Once you have entered a four digit number press the "band" button at
the left bottom of the radio.
6) The radios display will go back to normal and you're all set.

Steve


I don't know where I got this or if it works.
looneytuner is offline  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-08-2007, 08:18 PM   #15
Re: Resetting code on Pioneer DEX-77  
TD Hardcore User!
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Avon Park Fl

My Ride: 92 Iroc R/T Red
Engine: TIII
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 3,600
Feedback: (10)
charger R/T is keeping our cars running
Quote:
Originally Posted by looneytuner View Post
Hi Ken

Here's how to reprogram the DEX-77 with a new security code.

1) Turn the radio on.
2) Press and hold both volume control buttons at the same time.
3) Within one minute of holding both volume control buttons down you
will see the word "CODE" flash on the radios display. Release the volume
buttons when this happens.
4) Using the oval numbered buttons below the display and enter a four
digit security code.
Numerals 0 to 5 are clearly marked.
Numeral 6 is the "R-Play" button.
Numeral 7 is the "M-Play" button.
Numeral 8 is the "Volume -" button.
Numeral 9 is the "Volume +" button.
5) Once you have entered a four digit number press the "band" button at
the left bottom of the radio.
6) The radios display will go back to normal and you're all set.

Steve


I don't know where I got this or if it works.
That came from post 12 of the link I posted in post 2 of this thread. Earlier posters said it doesn't work. I don't know I don't have one of these radios.
Tim
charger R/T is offline  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Turbo Dodge Forums : Turbo Dodge Forum for Turbo Mopars, Shelbys, Dodge Daytona, Dodge SRT-4, Chrysler PT Cruiser, Omni and more! forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Member names may only be composed of alpha-numeric characters. (A-Z and 0-9)

!!ATTENTION ADVERTISERS!! If you intend on advertising anything on this forum, whatsoever, you are required to first contact us here . Additionaly, we do NOT allow BUSINESS NAMES unless you are an Authorized Vendor. If you own a business, and want to do sales on this site via posting or private message, you will need to follow the rules. Shops, Stores, Distributors, Group Buys without being authorized will see your account terminated.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.3.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:14 PM.