Bench Testing Radios - Turbo Dodge Forums : Turbo Dodge Forum for Turbo Mopars, Shelbys, Dodge Daytona, Dodge SRT-4, Chrysler PT Cruiser, Omni and more!
TurboDodge.com MarketPlace Shelby Registry Contact Us

Advertisement - Remove these ads today by clicking here.
Go Back   Turbo Dodge Forums : Turbo Dodge Forum for Turbo Mopars, Shelbys, Dodge Daytona, Dodge SRT-4, Chrysler PT Cruiser, Omni and more! > Appearance > Interior


Interior Restoration or topics about the interior

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-10-2011, 05:26 AM   #1
Bench Testing Radios  
Boostaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: MD

My Ride: 1990 daytona shelby
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 479
Feedback: (8)
cpfrock is keeping the peace
I'm trying to figure out how to bench test the radios with the dual
7 pin (grey & black) connectors. I know that the ground comes
from the case and that the pink or pink/white wire is the constant
12v, but that's as far as I can get...The red/black is for the ignition,
but when I apply 12v to it it sparks like a dead short. I can get the
button lights to light but not the "dial" or face. What am I missing??
Do I need to connect an antenna??? Oh, yeah, when I put it in the
car everything works???
cpfrock is offline  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share on facebook
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-10-2011, 02:22 PM   #2
Re: Bench Testing Radios  
Level 1 Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Albany Ga

1/4: 0.000

Posts: 64
Feedback: (0)
karlak is keeping the peace
I dont have a schematic to look at. You do not need an antenna to turn it on. Grd, Hot +12vdc, and constant +12 for memory. All this will do is tell you if it turns on and off. To test the reciever takes a few more pieces of equipment.
karlak is offline  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-10-2011, 02:53 PM   #3
Re: Bench Testing Radios  
ENTER 4 DECEMBER COTM!

 
yellonoma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Lower Sackville, NS, Canada

My Ride: 89 Daytona Shelby TT
Engine: 2.5 TII
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 3,323
Feedback: (7)
yellonoma is keeping our cars running
You probably already have a pin out, but if it helps:

Mopar Minivan Homeworld - Chrysler Car Stereo Pinout
yellonoma is offline  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-10-2011, 03:02 PM   #4
Re: Bench Testing Radios  
ENTER 4 DECEMBER COTM!

 
yellonoma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Lower Sackville, NS, Canada

My Ride: 89 Daytona Shelby TT
Engine: 2.5 TII
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 3,323
Feedback: (7)
yellonoma is keeping our cars running
When you apply power to the switched/ignition 12V by touching the wire to a battery terminal or anything such it will give a good spark because there is alot of current draw to power the amplifiers and other magical circuitry in the radio, if you had a better contact method, such as using a switch you would not notice a spark.

I would say you do not have a short, unless the wire tries to weld itself to the terminal.

Last edited by yellonoma; 02-10-2011 at 03:03 PM.. Reason: Typo
yellonoma is offline  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-10-2011, 11:31 PM   #5
Re: Bench Testing Radios  
Boostaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: MD

My Ride: 1990 daytona shelby
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 479
Feedback: (8)
cpfrock is keeping the peace
Quote:
Originally Posted by yellonoma View Post
When you apply power to the switched/ignition 12V by touching the wire to a battery terminal or anything such it will give a good spark because there is alot of current draw to power the amplifiers and other magical circuitry in the radio, if you had a better contact method, such as using a switch you would not notice a spark.

I would say you do not have a short, unless the wire tries to weld itself to the terminal.
Thanks all!! I had the pin out from my shop manual, but I still can't get the "dial" to display/light up w/o hooking it up to the car....I've got to be missing something....
cpfrock is offline  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-11-2011, 12:45 AM   #6
Re: Bench Testing Radios  
TD Hardcore User!
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Long Island

My Ride: Daytonas
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 2,856
Feedback: (12)
ChargedDust is keeping our cars running
I know you need the +12V constant AND the switched +12V, as well as the ground to get it to come on.
ChargedDust is offline  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-11-2011, 09:10 AM   #7
Re: Bench Testing Radios  
ENTER 4 DECEMBER COTM!

 
yellonoma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Lower Sackville, NS, Canada

My Ride: 89 Daytona Shelby TT
Engine: 2.5 TII
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 3,323
Feedback: (7)
yellonoma is keeping our cars running
Quote:
Originally Posted by cpfrock View Post
Thanks all!! I had the pin out from my shop manual, but I still can't get the "dial" to display/light up w/o hooking it up to the car....I've got to be missing something....
Well.. pin 3 on the gray connector, orange according to the site I posted above is for illumination, that would be either constant or switched 12V, either way you need power to that to get display I am assuming.. I haven't had the pleasure to bench test mine yet, this weekend probably i'll pull them out for shits.
yellonoma is offline  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-12-2011, 06:52 AM   #8
Re: Bench Testing Radios  
Boostaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: MD

My Ride: 1990 daytona shelby
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 479
Feedback: (8)
cpfrock is keeping the peace
Quote:
Originally Posted by yellonoma View Post
Well.. pin 3 on the gray connector, orange according to the site I posted above is for illumination, that would be either constant or switched 12V, either way you need power to that to get display I am assuming.. I haven't had the pleasure to bench test mine yet, this weekend probably i'll pull them out for shits.
Well, don't do what I did!!! I was using a transformer from my model trains. I dabble with older American Flyer trains that run on AC!!!! I have no idea why, but that was the problem all this time!!! Once I switched to a DC transformer everything worked fine... Live and learn, and pass it on!!
cpfrock is offline  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-12-2011, 12:58 PM   #9
Re: Bench Testing Radios  
Level 2 Supporter
 
donald7150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: NL

My Ride: 92 Chrysler IROC R/T
Engine: TIII
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 96
Feedback: (1)
donald7150 is keeping the peace
I acctually have a REF CD player out of an '07 ram pickup connected to a small motormaster battery booster pack on the bench in my garage, its connected to two small bookshelf speakers. Also has a 3.5mm input for my ipod! works great!
donald7150 is offline  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-12-2011, 04:54 PM   #10
Re: Bench Testing Radios  
ENTER 4 DECEMBER COTM!

 
yellonoma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Lower Sackville, NS, Canada

My Ride: 89 Daytona Shelby TT
Engine: 2.5 TII
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 3,323
Feedback: (7)
yellonoma is keeping our cars running
Quote:
Originally Posted by cpfrock View Post
Well, don't do what I did!!! I was using a transformer from my model trains. I dabble with older American Flyer trains that run on AC!!!! I have no idea why, but that was the problem all this time!!! Once I switched to a DC transformer everything worked fine... Live and learn, and pass it on!!
Oh crap, that will do it, yeah the older ones use AC on the tracks... haha that's kinda funny... it didn't fry it?
yellonoma is offline  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-18-2011, 08:33 PM   #11
Re: Bench Testing Radios  
Boostaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: MD

My Ride: 1990 daytona shelby
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 479
Feedback: (8)
cpfrock is keeping the peace
Quote:
Originally Posted by yellonoma View Post
Oh crap, that will do it, yeah the older ones use AC on the tracks... haha that's kinda funny... it didn't fry it?
Well I did smoke the power supply...Luckily I has a second parts player....

Now It plays for 18 -22 seconds, then Errors out??? At least I know it's not
AC related!!!
cpfrock is offline  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Turbo Dodge Forums : Turbo Dodge Forum for Turbo Mopars, Shelbys, Dodge Daytona, Dodge SRT-4, Chrysler PT Cruiser, Omni and more! forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Member names may only be composed of alpha-numeric characters. (A-Z and 0-9)

!!ATTENTION ADVERTISERS!! If you intend on advertising anything on this forum, whatsoever, you are required to first contact us here . Additionaly, we do NOT allow BUSINESS NAMES unless you are an Authorized Vendor. If you own a business, and want to do sales on this site via posting or private message, you will need to follow the rules. Shops, Stores, Distributors, Group Buys without being authorized will see your account terminated.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.3.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:29 PM.