Do I bolt the turbo to the head and then put the head on? - Turbo Dodge Forums : Turbo Dodge Forum for Turbo Mopars, Shelbys, Dodge Daytona, Dodge SRT-4, Chrysler PT Cruiser, Omni and more!
Turbo III Help with turbo III cars

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 01-27-2019, 07:36 PM Thread Starter
TD New Guy
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: San Diego, CA
 
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 41
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Do I bolt the turbo to the head and then put the head on?

I'm installing a new head on my Shelby Lancer, hard to beleive but it was the original head that came with the car. I had rebuilt, the question is, should I bolt the Turbo and the Intake Manifold on the head, and then install the head or do it one piece at a time?

Thank you in advance
PYCSXVNT12
PYCSXVNT12 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 01-27-2019, 08:01 PM
Super Moderator

 
Dr. Johny Dodge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Toronto
 
My Ride: 87 Shelby Charger
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 11,624
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
   
Re: Do I bolt the turbo to the head and then put the head on?

first assemble everything

a length of 6x6 and a short piece of 2x4 are really handy as "stands"
6x goes under head
2x goes under end of exhaust housing
then everything sits flat on the bench - mostly

then call a buddy 'cause it's gonna be heavy and awkward

then make sure to wiggle the little bracket that holds the dipstick tube to the t-stat housing bolt.. yeah wiggle it until it's loose enough to drop down the tube without breaking the tube off at the block

why?
because it's easy to miss and a free-king bee-eye-tea-sea-ach if it gets caught between the head and block as it kinda ruins the new head gasket you have there....

also remember to line up the cam pulley with the cam cap parting lines while the head is still on the bench
- it's a hell of a lot easier to make sure not to rotate the pulley as you put the head on then it is to see the parting lines through the pulley when the head's on...

if your exhaust manifold outlet and turbo inlet flanges are flat then a light smear of grease will form a burned in gasket or seal

lines from front of block to turbo are easier to install on the bench too - if the factory style lines will fit tight to the end of the head they are in the right place

and the aircleaner bracket .. really helps the buddy reach over the fender if it's on the head already
Dr. Johny Dodge is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 01-28-2019, 05:53 PM
Legendary Driver
 
GLHNSLHT2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Spokane, Wa
 
My Ride: 85 GLHT, 87 ShelbyZ,
Engine: 2.2 T2 and 2.5 T2
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 13.882

Posts: 10,881
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
     
Re: Do I bolt the turbo to the head and then put the head on?

Cherry picker is easiest. Then you can wrap a strap around the plenum and lower the head right onto the pins without f'ing up the gasket. But before you let the straps/chains go slack put a head bolt in the front middle hole just enough so the head doesn't rock back. :) I like this way because it takes the pussy friend out of the equation who can't line something and hold something properly.
GLHNSLHT2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 6 Old 01-29-2019, 08:25 AM
Boostaholic
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: NE FLORIDA
 
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 855
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Re: Do I bolt the turbo to the head and then put the head on?

install the intake. exhaust and turbo on the car.
I always have good success laying the head where it needs to go. and putting the gasket where it needs to be. and slightly lifting the head while someone drops the gasket in place.

Use copper gasket prep!
masterjr3333 is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 02-03-2019, 09:06 PM Thread Starter
TD New Guy
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: San Diego, CA
 
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 41
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Re: Do I bolt the turbo to the head and then put the head on?

Thank you everyone for the notes, all very useful! I'll check into copper gasket prep, I haven't heard about that.

Best Regards, CSXVNT12
PYCSXVNT12 is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 02-06-2019, 06:28 PM
Legendary Driver
 
GLHNSLHT2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Spokane, Wa
 
My Ride: 85 GLHT, 87 ShelbyZ,
Engine: 2.2 T2 and 2.5 T2
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 13.882

Posts: 10,881
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
     
Re: Do I bolt the turbo to the head and then put the head on?

Like so....



GLHNSLHT2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Turbo Dodge Forums : Turbo Dodge Forum for Turbo Mopars, Shelbys, Dodge Daytona, Dodge SRT-4, Chrysler PT Cruiser, Omni and more! forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Member names may only be composed of alpha-numeric characters. (A-Z and 0-9)

!!ATTENTION ADVERTISERS!! If you intend on advertising anything on this forum, whatsoever, you are required to first contact us here . Additionaly, we do NOT allow BUSINESS NAMES unless you are an Authorized Vendor. If you own a business, and want to do sales on this site via posting or private message, you will need to follow the rules. Shops, Stores, Distributors, Group Buys without being authorized will see your account terminated.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome