Custom timing belt routing - Turbo Dodge Forums : Turbo Dodge Forum for Turbo Mopars, Shelbys, Dodge Daytona, Dodge SRT-4, Chrysler PT Cruiser, Omni and more!

Turbo III Help with turbo III cars

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 130 Old 07-29-2008, 01:34 AM
Lotashelbys
Guest
 
 

Posts: n/a
Custom timing belt routing

This was an idea that me and a few others have been talking about for about 6 or 8 months now and I finally did something about it. That is idler between the intake cam and I-shaft run of the timing belt. That is the worst spot for belt deflection and with the idler there I think it will dampen ALOT of that and hopefully keep the I-shaft teeth and and belts alive much longer.

I pulled the motor out of a buddies beater Spirit R/T earlier today(thats why its ugly) and it was just sitting on the cherry picker and I wasnt tired yet,hmmm....
Well a half an hour later and it was all mocked up. It fits like it was supposed to come that way with only grinding a few things off the cast aluminum alt/AC bracket and drilling a hole for the idler pulley and counter-sinking the P/S bracket for a flat head socket cap screw to take place of where the idler used to be. Yes,it still uses the stock belt and you can still run the A/C
Heres a few picks of the mocked up proto-type. I will have to put a prettier version in the next car that goes together for some road testing.....


Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 130 Old 07-29-2008, 04:27 AM
Helping when I can
 
Screamin4banger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: America's Dairyland
 
My Ride: 85SC/86SC/91RT/73SE
Engine: 2.2/2.2/2.2/6.6
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 1,326
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Garage
Re: Custom timing belt routing

That definitely looks like it will keep that belt under control better
Just a few Q's:
How many degrees would you guess the cams are advanced with stock gears?
Do you feel having the idler threaded into the aluminum a/c bracket will last indefinitely?

Looks good
Screamin4banger is offline  
post #3 of 130 Old 07-29-2008, 07:37 AM
TD Extreme User!
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Here...
 
My Ride: 92' RT/87' Shelby Z
Engine: 2.2L TIII/TII
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 111.340

Posts: 4,910
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Images: 119
 
Re: Custom timing belt routing

you sir, are THE man.


That is all....
bansheenut420 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 130 Old 07-29-2008, 02:51 PM
Level 1 Supporter
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NJ
 
My Ride: 1993 IROC R/T
Engine: 2.2L DOHC Turbo III
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 768
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Re: Custom timing belt routing

Sign me up...

Would this change the tension setting on the belt?
movaldes is offline  
post #5 of 130 Old 07-29-2008, 07:28 PM
Hybrid Booster
 
Millerman340's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: orlando Fl.
 
My Ride: 91 spirit r/t
Engine: TIII
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 13.883

Posts: 1,042
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Re: Custom timing belt routing

Did it move over a tooth on the belt?
Millerman340 is offline  
post #6 of 130 Old 07-29-2008, 09:29 PM
Pat
Hybrid Booster
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Rockville, MD
 
My Ride: '88 Shadow ES 16v
Engine: 2.2 T-III
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 10.570

Posts: 1,284
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Re: Custom timing belt routing

It will move the cam timing around a bit also...make sure you use adjustable cam gears and get those babies degreed in.
Pat is offline  
post #7 of 130 Old 07-29-2008, 10:59 PM
RIP
 
Blue Iroc R/T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Barberton, Ohio
 
My Ride: 93 Daytona Iroc R/T
Engine: 2.2l TIII
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 1,363
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Re: Custom timing belt routing

IMO, you would still time the cam in the same manner as per the FSM, it is just that the slack on the front of the belt would be taken out by the idler on the front. If the crank is at TDC and the Cams are Set to TDC, and the belt is tensioned correctly; as the belt moves, SO will the cams. I don't see that the idler on the front will have any affect on the cam timing.
Blue Iroc R/T is offline  
post #8 of 130 Old 07-30-2008, 04:23 AM
Garrett Booster
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Suomi,Finland,Perkele.
 
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 225
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Re: Custom timing belt routing

How about two smaller idlers. One in original spot and one in new spot?
eski is offline  
post #9 of 130 Old 07-30-2008, 05:16 AM
Pat
Hybrid Booster
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Rockville, MD
 
My Ride: '88 Shadow ES 16v
Engine: 2.2 T-III
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 10.570

Posts: 1,284
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Re: Custom timing belt routing

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blue Iroc R/T View Post
IMO, you would still time the cam in the same manner as per the FSM, it is just that the slack on the front of the belt would be taken out by the idler on the front. If the crank is at TDC and the Cams are Set to TDC, and the belt is tensioned correctly; as the belt moves, SO will the cams. I don't see that the idler on the front will have any affect on the cam timing.
The cams will move a few degrees because if the crank is at TDC and you pull some slack out of the belt on the front side of the cams, it will move the cam gears a few degrees. Typically the slack is pulled out of the back side.
Pat is offline  
post #10 of 130 Old 07-30-2008, 09:22 AM
Boostaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Baltimore,MD
 
My Ride: 91 Spirit R/T,
Engine: 2.2 TIII
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 14.800

Posts: 984
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Re: Custom timing belt routing

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pat View Post
The cams will move a few degrees because if the crank is at TDC and you pull some slack out of the belt on the front side of the cams, it will move the cam gears a few degrees. Typically the slack is pulled out of the back side.
+1
rx2mazda is offline  
post #11 of 130 Old 07-30-2008, 10:57 AM
Lotashelbys
Guest
 
 

Posts: n/a
Re: Custom timing belt routing

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pat View Post
The cams will move a few degrees because if the crank is at TDC and you pull some slack out of the belt on the front side of the cams, it will move the cam gears a few degrees. Typically the slack is pulled out of the back side.
I was thinking about that all day yesterday after what Millerman said and the worst it will do is advance both cam slightly and move the powerband down a few RPMs which wont hurt most TIIIs that arent heavily modified
post #12 of 130 Old 07-31-2008, 07:08 AM
Hybrid Booster
 
Millerman340's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: orlando Fl.
 
My Ride: 91 spirit r/t
Engine: TIII
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 13.883

Posts: 1,042
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Re: Custom timing belt routing

But what I was thinking was that if it was exactly the space of one tooth then it should not change, I've been hoping for this fix since my first belt break.
Millerman340 is offline  
post #13 of 130 Old 07-31-2008, 07:55 AM
Boostaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Hamilton, MI
 
My Ride: '88 Daytona w/t-tops
Engine: 1.65 TII-3 Cyl-lol
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 768
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Re: Custom timing belt routing

It might move it, it might not. depends on if the added distance is equal to an even multiple of the tooth distance. It should be off no more than one tooth.

You could fix this by adjustable cam gears, or make the new pulley adjustable so that you can set the distance right so the top and bottom line up.
kermit is offline  
post #14 of 130 Old 08-04-2008, 01:22 AM
Lotashelbys
Guest
 
 

Posts: n/a
Re: Custom timing belt routing

So,this has been bothering me all week to see if this works so I had to try it. Just got back from the first test run in my white Spirit with the idler on the other side

It seems to run a bit smoother and ALL of the harmonics or belt slap on the rev-down is gone. I guess they should of made them this way just like every other DOHC motor out there. Heres some pics.......



post #15 of 130 Old 11-22-2008, 01:25 AM
Hybrid Booster
 
dragbaron's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Clovis, NM
 
My Ride: Mopar!
Engine: 5.9 & 2.2 turbo
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 1,597
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Re: Custom timing belt routing

Any problems with it since August? Were you able to do this conversion on your car with the motor in place? If you have decided that this works with no problems, could you give some instructions on what all tools and parts are needed(drill bit and tap size, power steering bracket bolt, etc)? The belt is off my car right now, so i thought i'd ask.
dragbaron is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Turbo Dodge Forums : Turbo Dodge Forum for Turbo Mopars, Shelbys, Dodge Daytona, Dodge SRT-4, Chrysler PT Cruiser, Omni and more! forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Member names may only be composed of alpha-numeric characters. (A-Z and 0-9)

!!ATTENTION ADVERTISERS!! If you intend on advertising anything on this forum, whatsoever, you are required to first contact us here . Additionaly, we do NOT allow BUSINESS NAMES unless you are an Authorized Vendor. If you own a business, and want to do sales on this site via posting or private message, you will need to follow the rules. Shops, Stores, Distributors, Group Buys without being authorized will see your account terminated.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome