ASD will not actuate - Turbo Dodge Forums : Turbo Dodge Forum for Turbo Mopars, Shelbys, Dodge Daytona, Dodge SRT-4, Chrysler PT Cruiser, Omni and more!

Turbo Dodge Help Urgent help when something goes wrong with your Dodge and you can't figure out what the problem is. Troubleshooting help and the place to post when you're stuck with a broken car and have to get to work the next day.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 69 Old 07-05-2016, 08:22 PM Thread Starter
Level 3 Supporter
 
89TonaVa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Portsmouth Va.
 
My Ride: 89 DaytonShelby TII
Engine: 2.2 Turbo FMIC
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 2,547
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
ASD will not actuate

My ASD relay will not actuate unless I jump it over.
89 Daytona 2.2 T2
89TonaVa is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 69 Old 07-05-2016, 08:43 PM Thread Starter
Level 3 Supporter
 
89TonaVa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Portsmouth Va.
 
My Ride: 89 DaytonShelby TII
Engine: 2.2 Turbo FMIC
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 2,547
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Re: ASD will not actuate

I should mention that the main wire going to alternator gave out last night due to corrosion and or fatigue. but I repaired that and drove the car today. Hopped into it tonight and car would not start. I jumped ASD over as instructed in fuel pressure test sticky and ASD actuated .
89TonaVa is offline  
post #3 of 69 Old 07-06-2016, 05:31 AM
NAJ
Just A Guy


 
NAJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: New Jersey
 
My Ride: 1990 Daytona Shelby
Engine: 2.2 L VNT
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 15.570

Posts: 23,906
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
       
Re: ASD will not actuate

1)Do you hear the fuel pump cycle on for 1 second with initial key on?
If no, post back.

2)If yes and this is now a cranks but will not start condition follow this and post back.

https://www.turbododge.com/forums/f4/...k-84-90-a.html

(Do not forget that manually actuating the ASD will set a Code 42 in memory)
NAJ is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 69 Old 07-06-2016, 11:18 AM Thread Starter
Level 3 Supporter
 
89TonaVa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Portsmouth Va.
 
My Ride: 89 DaytonShelby TII
Engine: 2.2 Turbo FMIC
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 2,547
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Re: ASD will not actuate

Thanks Naj. Tha ASD def. Was not actuating. Unless jumped over. Then pump worked .Will proceed with no start tests.
89TonaVa is offline  
post #5 of 69 Old 07-06-2016, 05:57 PM
NAJ
Just A Guy


 
NAJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: New Jersey
 
My Ride: 1990 Daytona Shelby
Engine: 2.2 L VNT
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 15.570

Posts: 23,906
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
       
Re: ASD will not actuate

Quote:
Originally Posted by 89TonaVa View Post
Thanks Naj. Tha ASD def. Was not actuating. Unless jumped over. Then pump worked .Will proceed with no start tests.
Did it actuate for 1 second with initial key on?
NAJ is offline  
post #6 of 69 Old 07-06-2016, 06:19 PM
TD Extreme User!
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
 
My Ride: 90 Daytona Shelby
Engine: 2.5
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 5,924
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Images: 12
 
Garage
Re: ASD will not actuate

Confused. Are you bypassing the relay and bridging the power circuit that normally runs through it? Or are you grounding out the blue/yellow wire in the diagnostic connector to manually activate the relay?
EvilcowRoland is offline  
post #7 of 69 Old 07-06-2016, 06:26 PM
NAJ
Just A Guy


 
NAJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: New Jersey
 
My Ride: 1990 Daytona Shelby
Engine: 2.2 L VNT
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 15.570

Posts: 23,906
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
       
Re: ASD will not actuate

Quote:
Originally Posted by 89TonaVa View Post
I jumped ASD over as instructed in fuel pressure test sticky and ASD actuated .
According to this quote he grounded the DB/YL wire in the diagnostic connector.
NAJ is offline  
post #8 of 69 Old 07-06-2016, 07:02 PM Thread Starter
Level 3 Supporter
 
89TonaVa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Portsmouth Va.
 
My Ride: 89 DaytonShelby TII
Engine: 2.2 Turbo FMIC
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 2,547
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Re: ASD will not actuate

Heres what I did so far step by step.
While out taking a spin in car the main wire on alt failed. Not sign of burning . Looks as though it was corroded.
fix on the side of the road and got a jump from roommate .
Drove home with no incident.
Went out an hour later car would turn over but not start. Did not hear the click of the ASD, injector or hear the pump prime.
Decided to ground DB/Y wire at diag. connector and everything happened. injectors fired and pump ran continuously .


Guess I could try starting car while ASD is grounded?

Going to start no start test while I await reply. Thanks

You can tune a Tona but you cant tune a fish !
89TonaVa is offline  
post #9 of 69 Old 07-06-2016, 07:43 PM
NAJ
Just A Guy


 
NAJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: New Jersey
 
My Ride: 1990 Daytona Shelby
Engine: 2.2 L VNT
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 15.570

Posts: 23,906
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
       
Re: ASD will not actuate

Going to be a difference in diagnostics as to weather or not the ASD actually actuated during the initial key on or it did not.
Verify that first, just connect a test light to the + coil and ground and turn the key on.
NAJ is offline  
post #10 of 69 Old 07-06-2016, 08:43 PM
NAJ
Just A Guy


 
NAJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: New Jersey
 
My Ride: 1990 Daytona Shelby
Engine: 2.2 L VNT
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 15.570

Posts: 23,906
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
       
Re: ASD will not actuate

Will be logging off soon so...
If the ASD does not actuate for one second with initial key on you may have lost a power feed into the controller so it does not see that you turned the key on.

If it does actuate for 1 second with initial key on continue following the no start diagnostics.

SBEC 14 Pin Cavity 4 from Ignition Switch
(this also runs to the Alternator, Rad Fan Relay and Diagnostic Connector from the Ignition Switch)
SBEC 60 Pin Cavity 12 from SBEC 14 Pin Cavity 3
(this also runs from the SBEC 14 Pin Cavity 3 to the ASD Relay

Jan
1990 Daytona Shelby VNT

40 Years ASE Certified (Retired)
NAJ is offline  
post #11 of 69 Old 07-06-2016, 09:28 PM Thread Starter
Level 3 Supporter
 
89TonaVa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Portsmouth Va.
 
My Ride: 89 DaytonShelby TII
Engine: 2.2 Turbo FMIC
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 2,547
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Re: ASD will not actuate

ok sorry it took so long to get back with you guys. ASD does not actuate with initial key on. Will try back probing DB/Y at 1-58 on 60 way connector with ground to see if that actuates ASD. That should tell if wire is good from smec to ASD. After that I would think I need to check signal from ignition to smec to see if ignition switch has gone bad or I have a bad wire between to two.
89TonaVa is offline  
post #12 of 69 Old 07-07-2016, 05:28 AM
NAJ
Just A Guy


 
NAJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: New Jersey
 
My Ride: 1990 Daytona Shelby
Engine: 2.2 L VNT
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 15.570

Posts: 23,906
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
       
Re: ASD will not actuate

Quote:
Originally Posted by 89TonaVa View Post
ok sorry it took so long to get back with you guys. ASD does not actuate with initial key on. Will try back probing DB/Y at 1-58 on 60 way connector with ground to see if that actuates ASD. That should tell if wire is good from smec to ASD. After that I would think I need to check signal from ignition to smec to see if ignition switch has gone bad or I have a bad wire between to two.
I forgot to mention checking the ASD Ground Side Control Wire (DB/YL) for an Open.

The wire runs from the ASD Relay to the Diagnostic Connector and then from the Diagnostic Connector to the SMEC.
NAJ is offline  
post #13 of 69 Old 07-07-2016, 04:07 PM Thread Starter
Level 3 Supporter
 
89TonaVa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Portsmouth Va.
 
My Ride: 89 DaytonShelby TII
Engine: 2.2 Turbo FMIC
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 2,547
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Re: ASD will not actuate

Ok will do that here in a min. 108 heat index today !!!! Have to build up the nerve to brave the heat.
89TonaVa is offline  
post #14 of 69 Old 07-07-2016, 05:41 PM Thread Starter
Level 3 Supporter
 
89TonaVa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Portsmouth Va.
 
My Ride: 89 DaytonShelby TII
Engine: 2.2 Turbo FMIC
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 2,547
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Re: ASD will not actuate

ok. Put the probe on the DB wire at ASD KO = 12v. Test from - post to wire
DB/Y wire at smec KO = no ground. Test from + post to wire.
89TonaVa is offline  
post #15 of 69 Old 07-07-2016, 05:49 PM Thread Starter
Level 3 Supporter
 
89TonaVa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Portsmouth Va.
 
My Ride: 89 DaytonShelby TII
Engine: 2.2 Turbo FMIC
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 2,547
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Re: ASD will not actuate

Now Im trying to decipher wiring diagram to figure which wire tells SMEC to actuate ASD.
89TonaVa is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Turbo Dodge Forums : Turbo Dodge Forum for Turbo Mopars, Shelbys, Dodge Daytona, Dodge SRT-4, Chrysler PT Cruiser, Omni and more! forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Member names may only be composed of alpha-numeric characters. (A-Z and 0-9)

!!ATTENTION ADVERTISERS!! If you intend on advertising anything on this forum, whatsoever, you are required to first contact us here . Additionaly, we do NOT allow BUSINESS NAMES unless you are an Authorized Vendor. If you own a business, and want to do sales on this site via posting or private message, you will need to follow the rules. Shops, Stores, Distributors, Group Buys without being authorized will see your account terminated.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome