How do I cal? - Turbo Dodge Forums : Turbo Dodge Forum for Turbo Mopars, Shelbys, Dodge Daytona, Dodge SRT-4, Chrysler PT Cruiser, Omni and more!

Engine Management, Fuel, Spark, EGTs, and Air/Fuel Ratios This forum includes general electrical, modification, tuning, repair, replacement, identification and restoration of all components mentioned above including SMEC, SBEC, Logic Modules, aftermarket engine management, etc. Nitrous oxide posts go in here. This is the place

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 Old 09-29-2017, 08:32 PM Thread Starter
TD New Guy
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
 
My Ride: 81 Dodge Omni Miser
Engine: 2.5
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 98
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Garage
How do I cal?

I did some research on boost button and don't understand everything. Do you replace the chip and connect a computer/laptop through diagnostics port? I want to be able to cal:
lm
smec
sbec
I have heard there are differences and it would be nice to know specifics. I have already downloaded mpscan and mptune.
v8sr4u is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 Old 09-30-2017, 12:32 AM
TD is love, TD is life
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ.
 
Engine: 2.2
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 13,429
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
   
Re: How do I cal?

Start by signing up here.
EFI Tuning

To sum up, it's basically open up the ECU, desolder chip, solder a socket, burn calibration in the chip, put chip in socket, close ECU. Moates Ostrich (real time emulator) and SST 27SF512 (flashable but discontinued chip) can be used with LM and SMEC. SBEC needs a latch board to use Ostrich or SST 27SF512
tryingbe is offline  
post #3 of 16 Old 09-30-2017, 06:34 AM
Level 1 Supporter
 
83scamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Indiana
 
My Ride: 83 Scamp GT
Engine: 2.2
Induct: N/A
1/4: 17.200

Posts: 2,479
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Re: How do I cal?

Tryingbe's link is a good one. That will explain a lot.

Unless you are willing to do additional mods to the ECU, you cannot flash through the diagnostic port.

Moates.net is a great source for chips & their Burn 2 is one of the best chip burners. MPtune is setup to work with the Burn 2. I just purchased one myself, along with 6 chips & sockets, so I can start tuning.

I'm certainly not the guy to go to for questions, as I'm just starting myself. But I hope to be able to flash ECUs shortly...
83scamp is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 16 Old 09-30-2017, 07:25 AM Thread Starter
TD New Guy
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
 
My Ride: 81 Dodge Omni Miser
Engine: 2.5
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 98
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Garage
Re: How do I cal?

What about just lm and smec if I want to tune through diagnostics port? Also where is a good source for sockets and chips?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	chrysler_ecu_comm_diagram.jpg
Views:	34
Size:	23.0 KB
ID:	238090  
v8sr4u is offline  
post #5 of 16 Old 09-30-2017, 07:30 AM
TD is love, TD is life
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ.
 
Engine: 2.2
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 13,429
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
   
Re: How do I cal?

Quote:
Originally Posted by v8sr4u View Post
What about just lm and smec if I want to tune through diagnostics port?
Not gonna happen for LM, unless you comes up with a solution.

There was someone selling a flashable SMEC, all sold out I believe and no one is remaking it at the moment.
tryingbe is offline  
post #6 of 16 Old 09-30-2017, 08:34 AM
Level 1 Supporter
 
83scamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Indiana
 
My Ride: 83 Scamp GT
Engine: 2.2
Induct: N/A
1/4: 17.200

Posts: 2,479
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Re: How do I cal?

Quote:
Originally Posted by v8sr4u View Post
Also where is a good source for sockets and chips?
See my last post... ^
83scamp is offline  
post #7 of 16 Old 09-30-2017, 11:30 AM Thread Starter
TD New Guy
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
 
My Ride: 81 Dodge Omni Miser
Engine: 2.5
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 98
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Garage
Re: How do I cal?

Do lm+pm cars have a diagnostics port? I was told they did and cannot find it.
v8sr4u is offline  
post #8 of 16 Old 09-30-2017, 03:10 PM
TD is love, TD is life
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ.
 
Engine: 2.2
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 13,429
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
   
Re: How do I cal?

Quote:
Originally Posted by v8sr4u View Post
Do lm+pm cars have a diagnostics port? I was told they did and cannot find it.
Paseenger side of the engine bag, near where the relays are.
tryingbe is offline  
post #9 of 16 Old 10-02-2017, 08:32 PM Thread Starter
TD New Guy
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
 
My Ride: 81 Dodge Omni Miser
Engine: 2.5
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 98
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Garage
Re: How do I cal?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tryingbe View Post
Not gonna happen for LM, unless you comes up with a solution.

There was someone selling a flashable SMEC, all sold out I believe and no one is remaking it at the moment.
So what is the problem? Does no one sell a flashable LM and is there no way to make one?
v8sr4u is offline  
post #10 of 16 Old 10-02-2017, 08:50 PM
TD is love, TD is life
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ.
 
Engine: 2.2
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 13,429
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
   
Re: How do I cal?

Quote:
Originally Posted by v8sr4u View Post
Does no one sell a flashable LM
None, zero, nada.

Quote:
Originally Posted by v8sr4u View Post
is there no way to make one?
Socket it and use this. 'Ostrich 2.0 : The New Breed' [OSTRICH_2] - $175.00 : Moates.Net
tryingbe is offline  
post #11 of 16 Old 10-03-2017, 09:50 PM Thread Starter
TD New Guy
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
 
My Ride: 81 Dodge Omni Miser
Engine: 2.5
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 98
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Garage
Re: How do I cal?

tryingbe
I have an lm with a wire hanging out. The previous owner claims this was a stage 2 mp lm. He said when you power the wire it runs the mp tune, but without, it is a factory tune. Do you think this lm is socketed?
v8sr4u is offline  
post #12 of 16 Old 10-03-2017, 10:45 PM
TD is love, TD is life
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ.
 
Engine: 2.2
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 13,429
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
   
Re: How do I cal?

Quote:
Originally Posted by v8sr4u View Post
tryingbe
I have an lm with a wire hanging out. The previous owner claims this was a stage 2 mp lm. He said when you power the wire it runs the mp tune, but without, it is a factory tune. Do you think this lm is socketed?
Pictures?

It's 4 screws to open to case to look at the chip and see if it is socketed.
tryingbe is offline  
post #13 of 16 Old 10-04-2017, 05:37 AM Thread Starter
TD New Guy
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
 
My Ride: 81 Dodge Omni Miser
Engine: 2.5
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 98
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Garage
Re: How do I cal?

tryingbe
so light from your house does not hurt them, just sunlight? I assume this matters if it is not socketed.
v8sr4u is offline  
post #14 of 16 Old 10-04-2017, 06:52 AM
Level 1 Supporter
 
83scamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Indiana
 
My Ride: 83 Scamp GT
Engine: 2.2
Induct: N/A
1/4: 17.200

Posts: 2,479
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Re: How do I cal?

If it's an original UV eraseable chip, it takes something like 10 hours of direct sunlight exposure to erase them.

No, it doesn't hurt to open them up...

Plus, they have a sticker over them from the factory to cover the window. You have to remove the sticker to erase them.
83scamp is offline  
post #15 of 16 Old 10-04-2017, 07:34 AM
Level 2 Supporter
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: canada
 
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 268
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Re: How do I cal?

Quote:
Originally Posted by v8sr4u View Post
tryingbe
I have an lm with a wire hanging out. The previous owner claims this was a stage 2 mp lm. He said when you power the wire it runs the mp tune, but without, it is a factory tune. Do you think this lm is socketed?
Sounds like BoostButton Dual play board inside. When you are inside don't touch anything unless you are grounded so you are not full of static. Unlikely you will hurt anything but don't wear that fluffy Angora sweater
chromguy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Turbo Dodge Forums : Turbo Dodge Forum for Turbo Mopars, Shelbys, Dodge Daytona, Dodge SRT-4, Chrysler PT Cruiser, Omni and more! forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Member names may only be composed of alpha-numeric characters. (A-Z and 0-9)

!!ATTENTION ADVERTISERS!! If you intend on advertising anything on this forum, whatsoever, you are required to first contact us here . Additionaly, we do NOT allow BUSINESS NAMES unless you are an Authorized Vendor. If you own a business, and want to do sales on this site via posting or private message, you will need to follow the rules. Shops, Stores, Distributors, Group Buys without being authorized will see your account terminated.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome