So you want to run a MSD Blaster 2 on your turbo Dodge? - Turbo Dodge Forums : Turbo Dodge Forum for Turbo Mopars, Shelbys, Dodge Daytona, Dodge SRT-4, Chrysler PT Cruiser, Omni and more!
Engine Management, Fuel, Spark, EGTs, and Air/Fuel Ratios This forum includes general electrical, modification, tuning, repair, replacement, identification and restoration of all components mentioned above including SMEC, SBEC, Logic Modules, aftermarket engine management, etc. Nitrous oxide posts go in here. This is the place

 1Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 41 Old 05-23-2013, 09:19 PM Thread Starter
Naturally Aspirated
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA
 
My Ride: CSX/CS/GLHS
Engine: 2.2
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 7,667
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
     
So you want to run a MSD Blaster 2 on your turbo Dodge?

....then be sure to read this first!

The following dialog is an excerpt of a dialog between myself and the MSD technical support department:

Questions: "I just purchased a Blaster 2 for a 1987 Turbo charged Dodge Shelby Charger. Three questions: I have been told that the Blaster 2 needs to be mounted in a vertical position only, not on it's side with the terminals elevated about 20* such as the OEM mounting would have it. Is vertical mounting a requirement? 2. I am told the OEM coil that I am replacing has an internal ballast resistor, told by several Chrysler certified techs familiar w/these cars. Is the Blaster 2 #8202 require an externally mounted ballast resistor to be compatible w/this model car? 3. If external ballast is a requirement, what, if any, problems may result from running w/o the external ballast. Many of the owners of these cars are running them w/o the external ballast. Thanks in advance, Steven "

MSD Tech Response:

1) The 8202 should be mounted no more than 45 degrees from vertical.

2) Yes, you will require an external ballast resistor.

3) Running with out the ballast will result in damage to the signaling device in the distributor.

So if you are running an MSD Blaster 2 w/o a balast resistor then you should be running a ballast resistor if its a turbo car w/electronic injection! If it's mounted in the stock coil bracket and lying down, it needs to be moved to the vertical or no less than 45* from vertical, if you seem to be going through HEPs...then guess we know the cause.

Last edited by ILIKESHELBYS; 05-24-2013 at 09:01 PM.
ILIKESHELBYS is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 41 Old 05-23-2013, 11:19 PM
TD Hardcore User!
 
cawcislo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Thunder Bay Ontario Canada
 
My Ride: 87 Shelby daytona T2
Engine: 2.5 bored 0.20
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 13.785

Posts: 2,433
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Images: 4
 
Re: So you want to run a MSD Blaster 2 on your turbo Dodge?

I've been running it in the stock location (wrong) without an external ballast (wrong) for many years. Could this be affecting vehicle performance? Or is it simply reducing the lifespan of the HEP sensors.
cawcislo is offline  
post #3 of 41 Old 05-24-2013, 07:02 AM
- OFFICIAL GEARHEAD -

 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Houghton MI !frosty nights!
 
My Ride: Ram HFE/Omni/SL/XR7
Engine: 2.5 TII .60/.63 2-piece SRT4 IC SMEC no B/S ;)
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 13.800

Posts: 8,870
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Re: So you want to run a MSD Blaster 2 on your turbo Dodge?

the ECM triggers the coil,
with input signal from the HEP, and other sensors...

that's How the ECM varies timing, e.g. spark advance curve
detobias is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 41 Old 05-24-2013, 09:04 AM
Super Moderator


 
Dr. Johny Dodge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Toronto
 
My Ride: 87 Shelby Charger
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 11,569
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
   
Re: So you want to run a MSD Blaster 2 on your turbo Dodge?

I've used everything from an accel super coil , just to try it , an accel super stack , an accel electronic ford / gm coil and the msd with never 1 hep issue

I've had 1 old cryco hep fail with a stock coil but I know it was because of the crappy phone wire like wires breaking on the stock one

at our canadian tire stores up here they had a hep that had wiring that more resembled the cord on a toaster or lamp - thicker , more rubber-ie and grouved between each wire

- those heps solved all the breaking wire issues for me - whether those heps are still any good or if the quality of the ones on the store shelf now has changed - Idono

one thing I do know though - if you start running a ballast resistor your gonna need a couple of spares to go in the glovebox with the spare hep - 'cause you just added another reason for the car not to start in the morning

.. and most definitely you don't want to mount it to the coil bracket if the coil is on the motor - which is also a bad spot for a good coil ya paid good money for

Last edited by Dr. Johny Dodge; 03-15-2019 at 03:13 PM.
Dr. Johny Dodge is offline  
post #5 of 41 Old 05-24-2013, 09:14 AM
Super Moderator


 
Dr. Johny Dodge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Toronto
 
My Ride: 87 Shelby Charger
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 11,569
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
   
Re: So you want to run a MSD Blaster 2 on your turbo Dodge?

the question I'd want to ask is if I can run one of the msd programmable digital ignition boxes
I'll see if I can find a link to the one I'm thinkin of later

Last edited by Dr. Johny Dodge; 03-15-2019 at 03:13 PM.
Dr. Johny Dodge is offline  
post #6 of 41 Old 05-24-2013, 04:07 PM
R.I.P Dennis Jarvis

 
CBMDennis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Saint Cloud Florida
 
My Ride: 1988 Labaron Convert
Engine: Turbo 2 2.2 liter
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 5,369
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Re: So you want to run a MSD Blaster 2 on your turbo Dodge?

Deleted by Dennis
CBMDennis is offline  
post #7 of 41 Old 05-24-2013, 04:46 PM
R.I.P Dennis Jarvis

 
CBMDennis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Saint Cloud Florida
 
My Ride: 1988 Labaron Convert
Engine: Turbo 2 2.2 liter
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 5,369
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Thumbs up Re: So you want to run a MSD Blaster 2 on your turbo Dodge?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr. Johny Dodge View Post
the question I'd want to ask is if I can run one of the msd programable digital ignition boxes
I'll see if I can find a link to the one I'm thinkin of later
John as you may know I'm trying to sell a 3 step;

https://www.turbododge.com/forums/f7/...rted-part.html

This was disconnected from an MSD ignition 6AL box. If you want I can send it too you to see if it will work in your application.

Here is one example of wiring up a two / three step system

Dennis
CBMDennis is offline  
post #8 of 41 Old 05-24-2013, 07:09 PM
NAJ
Just A Guy


 
NAJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: New Jersey
 
My Ride: 1990 Daytona Shelby
Engine: 2.2 L VNT
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 15.570

Posts: 23,930
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
       
Re: So you want to run a MSD Blaster 2 on your turbo Dodge?

I have brought this up numerous times to people that have installed an MSD coil.
The internal primary resistance is .7 ohms and the Chrysler system requires a coil with 1.2-1.6 ohms primary resistance.
Why is everybody so hung up on MSD???
Why not just use the Accel coil that is made for Mopar products an has 1.4 ohms primary resistance.
I have had one on my car from 1993 to 2010 when I replaced it just because of age.
The SMP's coil I installed died 6 months later on the starting line at the track.
Now I have another Accel with no problems.

http://www.summitracing.com/search?keyword=8140m&dds=1

Jan
1990 Daytona Shelby VNT

40 Years ASE Certified (Retired)
NAJ is offline  
post #9 of 41 Old 05-24-2013, 07:53 PM
TD Hardcore User!
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Long Island
 
My Ride: Daytonas
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 2,969
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Re: So you want to run a MSD Blaster 2 on your turbo Dodge?

Does this hold true for the later style coils on the 3rd gen, the ones mounted on the thermostat housing...?
ChargedDust is offline  
post #10 of 41 Old 05-24-2013, 08:03 PM
NAJ
Just A Guy


 
NAJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: New Jersey
 
My Ride: 1990 Daytona Shelby
Engine: 2.2 L VNT
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 15.570

Posts: 23,930
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
       
Re: So you want to run a MSD Blaster 2 on your turbo Dodge?

This holds true for oil filled canister coils on the injected cars, not sure of the specs or aftermarket equivalents of the epoxy filled brick style coils.
Older Mopars all ran external ballast resistors that failed frequently, most carried a spare in the glove box.
NAJ is offline  
post #11 of 41 Old 05-25-2013, 12:25 PM
R.I.P Dennis Jarvis

 
CBMDennis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Saint Cloud Florida
 
My Ride: 1988 Labaron Convert
Engine: Turbo 2 2.2 liter
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 5,369
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Re: So you want to run a MSD Blaster 2 on your turbo Dodge?

when i took the stock coil out of my 88 Lebaron their was no external ballast resistor. It only had an external capacitor?

Dennis
CBMDennis is offline  
post #12 of 41 Old 05-26-2013, 07:42 AM
NAJ
Just A Guy


 
NAJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: New Jersey
 
My Ride: 1990 Daytona Shelby
Engine: 2.2 L VNT
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 15.570

Posts: 23,930
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
       
Re: So you want to run a MSD Blaster 2 on your turbo Dodge?

Quote:
Originally Posted by CBMDennis View Post
when i took the stock coil out of my 88 Lebaron their was no external ballast resistor. It only had an external capacitor?

Dennis
The resistor is internal, not external.
The older Mopars used external resistors.
My 72 Duster and 73 Dart had external resistors.
NAJ is offline  
post #13 of 41 Old 05-26-2013, 12:07 PM
R.I.P Dennis Jarvis

 
CBMDennis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Saint Cloud Florida
 
My Ride: 1988 Labaron Convert
Engine: Turbo 2 2.2 liter
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 5,369
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Re: So you want to run a MSD Blaster 2 on your turbo Dodge?

I've been running a MSD for three years now without a ballast resister and have had no issues. In my case the MSD 6AL was a wedding gift from my late father

So Jan what value and size ballast resister do you suggest we put on?

Dennis

Dennis
CBMDennis is offline  
post #14 of 41 Old 05-26-2013, 01:06 PM
NAJ
Just A Guy


 
NAJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: New Jersey
 
My Ride: 1990 Daytona Shelby
Engine: 2.2 L VNT
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 15.570

Posts: 23,930
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
       
Re: So you want to run a MSD Blaster 2 on your turbo Dodge?

Primary resistance of the Blaster 2 is .7 ohms and Chrysler calls for 1.2-1.6 ohms so a .7-.8 ohm resistor is what you would need.

http://www.summitracing.com/parts/msd-8214

But Again....
Why not just use the Accel 8140M???

NAJ is offline  
post #15 of 41 Old 05-26-2013, 01:55 PM
TD Hardcore User!
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Long Island
 
My Ride: Daytonas
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 2,969
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Re: So you want to run a MSD Blaster 2 on your turbo Dodge?

Quote:
Originally Posted by NAJ View Post
But Again....
Why not just use the Accel 8140M???
In my case, because that would be $200 worth of new coils vs. $50 in new resistors.

My '87 has been acting weird for the longest time, tried a bunch of different things but nothing cured the problem so far. I know I have at least one of these resistors sitting around, I'll put it in and see if it changes anything.
ChargedDust is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Turbo Dodge Forums : Turbo Dodge Forum for Turbo Mopars, Shelbys, Dodge Daytona, Dodge SRT-4, Chrysler PT Cruiser, Omni and more! forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Member names may only be composed of alpha-numeric characters. (A-Z and 0-9)

!!ATTENTION ADVERTISERS!! If you intend on advertising anything on this forum, whatsoever, you are required to first contact us here . Additionaly, we do NOT allow BUSINESS NAMES unless you are an Authorized Vendor. If you own a business, and want to do sales on this site via posting or private message, you will need to follow the rules. Shops, Stores, Distributors, Group Buys without being authorized will see your account terminated.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome