A413 flexplate install question - Turbo Dodge Forums : Turbo Dodge Forum for Turbo Mopars, Shelbys, Dodge Daytona, Dodge SRT-4, Chrysler PT Cruiser, Omni and more!

Transmission, Suspension, Brakes, Tires & Wheels This Dodge forum includes modification, tuning, repair, replacement, identification and restoration of manual and automatic transaxles, shifters, torque converters, flexplates, flywheels, ring gears, axles, and differentials including open, friction, and Q. This forum also includes modification, repair, replacement, identification and restoration of the above parts and how to tune them for better traction and handling. Also includes wheel bearings and hubs, wheel studs and nuts, wheel spacers, and other related items. Sponsored by Discount Tire

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 08-23-2019, 01:56 PM Thread Starter
TD New Guy
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: shasta lake, ca.
 
My Ride: 82 rampage
Engine: 2.2L
Induct: N/A
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
A413 flexplate install question

A413 flexplate install: does the flexplate require a backup ring where it mounts to crank? I installed the flexplate with the depressed side to the crank, now there is a clatter that sounds like the starter gear is rubbing the ring gear. I changed starters with same results. Do I have the flexplate on backwards? the plate is new so no bolt marks to check. I need to know as this is a job to pull the trans back out. Thanks
jax-roxy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 08-23-2019, 04:42 PM
Boostaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: DFW area
 
My Ride: 83 Rampage Base Carb
Engine: 2.2
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 408
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Garage
Re: A413 flexplate install question

Looked in my FSM but didn't see anything on installing the flexplate.

Here's a scan of a cutaway view of the A413:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	A413.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	108.9 KB
ID:	255191  
John83Rampage is online now  
post #3 of 10 Old 08-23-2019, 05:51 PM Thread Starter
TD New Guy
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: shasta lake, ca.
 
My Ride: 82 rampage
Engine: 2.2L
Induct: N/A
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Re: A413 flexplate install question

thanks I have that, can't get much out of that. I did look at some used ones on ebay and it looks like I installed the plate correctly so it may be some other issue. This project is a swap of manual to auto. lot of room for errors. thanks again
jax-roxy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 10 Old 08-23-2019, 06:05 PM
Boostaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: DFW area
 
My Ride: 83 Rampage Base Carb
Engine: 2.2
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 408
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Garage
Re: A413 flexplate install question

Did you have a bottom dust cover to install? Seems originally mine was loose a bit and made a clatter sound...
John83Rampage is online now  
post #5 of 10 Old 08-24-2019, 06:47 AM
- OFFICIAL GEARHEAD -

 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Houghton MI !frosty nights!
 
My Ride: Ram HFE/Omni/SL/XR7
Engine: 2.5 TII .60/.63 2-piece SRT4 IC SMEC no B/S ;)
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 13.800

Posts: 8,870
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Re: A413 flexplate install question

hmm..
there is 5222 613 1 PLATE, Crankshaft Bolt Backing which goes under the bolts (kinda like a big 6-combi-washer),
but, no, there isn't sposed to be anything 'tween 'flex plate' and crank ..
detobias is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 08-24-2019, 06:50 AM
- OFFICIAL GEARHEAD -

 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Houghton MI !frosty nights!
 
My Ride: Ram HFE/Omni/SL/XR7
Engine: 2.5 TII .60/.63 2-piece SRT4 IC SMEC no B/S ;)
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 13.800

Posts: 8,870
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Re: A413 flexplate install question

there should be upper and lower dust covers,
the 5222 454 1 COVER, Trans. Case Upper installs between the trans and engine so leaving it out could cause starter <-> ring gear issues
detobias is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 08-24-2019, 01:54 PM Thread Starter
TD New Guy
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: shasta lake, ca.
 
My Ride: 82 rampage
Engine: 2.2L
Induct: N/A
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Re: A413 flexplate install question

thanks; the dust covers are in place, I turned the heads of the converter bolts down I thought they might be hitting the dust covers, I'm still thinking about that. I did not install that backing plate, I don't have one, never even gave it a thought when I bolted the plate on, I whish I had. I am making a spacer to mount on the starter nose leaving room for the starter to center in its mount. That will tell me if it is ring gear contact. Thanks for the response.
jax-roxy is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 08-24-2019, 01:57 PM Thread Starter
TD New Guy
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: shasta lake, ca.
 
My Ride: 82 rampage
Engine: 2.2L
Induct: N/A
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Re: A413 flexplate install question

I forgot to say, this trans install is in an 82' rampage. not much room to fit everything in.
jax-roxy is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 08-25-2019, 04:19 PM
- OFFICIAL GEARHEAD -

 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Houghton MI !frosty nights!
 
My Ride: Ram HFE/Omni/SL/XR7
Engine: 2.5 TII .60/.63 2-piece SRT4 IC SMEC no B/S ;)
Induct: Turbo
1/4: 13.800

Posts: 8,870
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Re: A413 flexplate install question

if for some reason you want one of those plates I'll maIL you one for free just pay the ride
detobias is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 08-27-2019, 08:56 PM Thread Starter
TD New Guy
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: shasta lake, ca.
 
My Ride: 82 rampage
Engine: 2.2L
Induct: N/A
1/4: 0.000

Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Re: A413 flexplate install question

detobias, yes I would like to have that part. Thanks pm sent
jax-roxy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Turbo Dodge Forums : Turbo Dodge Forum for Turbo Mopars, Shelbys, Dodge Daytona, Dodge SRT-4, Chrysler PT Cruiser, Omni and more! forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Member names may only be composed of alpha-numeric characters. (A-Z and 0-9)

!!ATTENTION ADVERTISERS!! If you intend on advertising anything on this forum, whatsoever, you are required to first contact us here . Additionaly, we do NOT allow BUSINESS NAMES unless you are an Authorized Vendor. If you own a business, and want to do sales on this site via posting or private message, you will need to follow the rules. Shops, Stores, Distributors, Group Buys without being authorized will see your account terminated.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome