Turbo Dodge Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone,

I'm a newbie to cars and car rebuilding, so please bear with me.

Question one:

I'm working on fixing up an '88 Shelby Z Daytona in tandem with an older mechanic friend, and we're at a bit of an impasse. The headlamp module is blown and we're trying to replace it, but different people are feeding us different information. An internet source has two headlight modules (one with time delay, one without) for sale, and says they'll fit '87-89 daytonas and lebarons. On the other hand, my mechanic friend has a friend who worked for Chrysler in the 80s, and this friend says that the headlight module for '88 Shelby Zs is its own unique thing and isn't compatible with other daytona models.

Trying to get some clarity on this situation.

Question two:

My mechanic says we could also skip the headlight module and wire the light on/off and headlight up/down functions to toggle switches retrofitted into the dashboard. Would this be preferable to finding a working headlamp module, given how rare they are and how prone they are to breaking?

Thanks in advance~~

(edit: i'm new around here, so if this is in the wrong subforum let me know. thanks!)

·
Administrator
24,276 Posts
Welcome To TD!!!

According to the Chrysler Parts Catalog there are two different Headlamp Relay Modules for an 88 Daytona.
MOPAR PART NUMBERS
With Time Delay - 4437108
W/O Time Delay - 4437107

My suggestion would be to remove yours and see if there is a part # on it.
The module is located at the top center of the dash where a dash speaker would be located.
Both are available through a member of this site, he has multiple of both #'s.

As far as replacement or toggle switches, I prefer the original parts when available to keep the car/circuit/system as it was intended.
If you want numerous toggle switches in your car that is a personal choice.