Turbo Dodge Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
110 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently came into a 1990 Dodge Omni I want to rebuild and am a total Noob to Turbo Dodges. I posted a thread awhile saying how I found it in someones backyard before they gave it to a junkyard and had some awesome help with motor ideas..So here's what I'm working with...

Interior is spotless so no problems there and original engine is strong but will eventually be replaced for a turbo engine and hoping to get about 300hp Also I want to keep it an Automatic just because I get tired of shifting in traffic and for consistent starts. I just got the engine running today after it sat for about 2 years in the guys backyard so I'm finding a lot of things need to be replaced in the front end suspension. I was planning on doing this anyway but now I have to do it before any motor work because I want this to be my daily driver for a bit until this motor gives out.

Is there any recommended kits I can buy that are simple enough to do at home that will replace and tighten everything up in my front end. I would like to build my suspension turbo compatible if that matters...Also I have been reading the threads and I know I have to get coil overs for any real performance so which ones are recommended or have the most bang for my buck?? Also from what I've read rubber bushings are prefered with the coil overs correct?? can somebody point me in the right direction please..a kit for all this would be awesome but not sure where to look.. Thanks also any tranny advice is welcomed...

Attachments

·
Administrator
16,492 Posts
ok i built a omni about 3 years or more back it was a 90 factory 5 speed but ALL STOCK suspension lol even down to the small brakes! but i did lower it pretty far it road like crap haha i used a neon kit i modded to work, but i have a shelby charger now and i am using honda CRX eibachs and cut one coil off, they ride well stiff but smooth,