Turbo Dodge Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As this forum almost universally supports the 90&up common block as the strongest available production block. I was wondering if anyone has info. on race blocks: factory DC/Mopar or "aftermarket" blocks that are/were available. I sought of remember looking at a DC catalog of the era and recall seeing 2.2/2.5 race blocks. Can any one clear this up?

Does anyone have a list or link to a list of block casting numbers with corresponding description?

Also does anyone have info. on the purposively superior Mexican production blocks?

·
Registered
669 Posts
'89 and up actually, not just '90 and up common blocks.

I'm no expert on the offerings by Mopar, but I had heard of a Mopar Performance racing block too. It was my impression that these are very rare and they were stronger then a common block on the bottom end. I want to say they used stronger main caps, possibly chrom-moly caps?? but I cannot remember all the facts.

I think I remember Chris Falk mentioning he had had gotten one of the last 'new' racing blocks. If he sees this thread, maybe he'll chime in.

I didn't believe there was any difference in the Mexican blocks vs. USA castings when comparing common block to common block. Mexican turbo Dodges did get some interesting combinations, mostly the neat Phantom R/T which was a LeBarron with a Lotus headed Turbo III engine.

I'd have to say race block or not, it's really easy (if you have the cash) to build a block that will take anything you throw at it. For a while TAFT had some chrom-moly main caps which you could purchase, but I'm not so sure these are available anymore either.