Turbo Dodge Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to TD's but I have an 86' GTS I am doing the TII swap and adding some goodies and boost. For piece of mind I want to use stock TII rods and pistons with new rings. I have a line on a set in the classified section out of an 89' common block. Will these work in my older engine? If so I want them. Thanks for any input.

BTW... I am also looking for advice on a few other areas of this car. My planned setup was Stock TII rods/pistons, 1 piece intake, TII exhaust mani and Turbo, +20 injectors, 3" DP with a 3" cutout, TBI roller cam setup, underdrive pulley and 3bar MAP. All will be montiored with an AEM wideband. I was thinking of FWD stage 5 cal and run 12 pounds for cruising with the cutout closed and run maybe 16 or so with the cutout open for fun times. Is a stage 5 cal too much? I may get crazy one day and want to do more so that's why I was leaning towards the stage 5. It is unfortuneatly an auto I will run with a honkin' big cooler but, that will be the other weak link. I'm still collecting information/ research on what to do with that.

·
Administrator
10,179 Posts
The rod lengths are the same in all 2.2, so they will swap out. If they are good, it may be a good option to get them shot peened and drilled for better oiling, if you decide to get crazy on your setup later down the road.

The crank however will not swap out between the CB and older blocks. So if you decide you want the forged crank, then you may need to either source an 87-88 TII block, or swap your parts out for the CB motor. Not a hard swap. They bolt up the same, some of the small things are different, like the water pump, etc.

·
Registered
2,434 Posts