Turbo Dodge Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I'm new to this. I inherited an 86 shelby charger. It will turn over but not start. My father in law was racing it. he shut it off and has not started since. It has a MP power module in it. It is not getting any spark. I tried to get codes but none will come up. Not even a 55 or anything else. He did have a bleed on the turbo to raise boost. Could the computer be bad since it does not flash any codes? I already checked the hall effect sensor. Fusible links seem to be good to. Please help. I've always wanted to play with one of these. Thanks

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
yes the check engine light comes on and goes off when you first turn on the key. I should have been more specific with what happened. He was sitting in the staging lanes and shut the car off to go to the bathroom before he raced. When he got back in to start it, it would not start and hasn't since.

·
Registered
684 Posts
Maybe asd relay? I can't remember if the older models have a seperate relay or if it's in the power module. Try running a jumper wire from the positive side of the battery to the positive side of the coil.

·
Administrator
24,829 Posts
Start with the basics. Is there spark? Is there fuel pressure? When turning the key on do you hear the fuel pump cycle? Is the distributor turning?
If the problem is related to the check engine light not flashing codes that would be a communication problem with the controller.We need to know which systems(fuel, spark) are not functioning so we can narrow down and isolate the problem.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
the fuel pump does cycle when you first turn the key. The distributor does turn. There is no spark. I pulled a plug and turned the engine over and nothing. Also no power to the pos side of coil when cranking. Is the fuel pump in the tank on these?

·
Administrator
24,829 Posts