Turbo Dodge Forums banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hiya,

A buddy of mine just acquired CSX-T #929 and I'm looking to resolve some issues for him before we start bolting on upgrades. Keep in mind that I'm fairly new to cars in general, but i'm not allergic to turning a wrench and I have some basic electrical troubleshooting under my belt as well. I own/wrench on a bunch of motorcycles and have a few mopars as well - 91 lebaron 3.0 convertible parts car, 92 lebaron 3.0 convertible daily, 93 daytona - getting engine from parts lebaron, and two Turbo II lebarons on the way. I do have the factory service manuals, but I want to explore all avenues for information given my work schedule and time.

The CSX-T: Currently starts/runs/drives, but has a myriad of minor issues and a few serious ones. It overboosts to 10/15 psi and I guess hits cutoff? The car bucks pretty hard when this happens and you hear popping/backfiring i guess from the turbo. If you keep easy throttle the car will boost to around 7 no problem. I won't be driving it much and definitely won't be allowing the boost to go so high on test rides. The brakes don't engage until the last 5-10% of pedal travel. The E-Brake does not work. The reverse lock mechanism does not work - previous owner has something attached so he can manually pull open the mechanism. I have not tried it myself yet.

It supposedly has a TII block from a Turbo LeBaron - also supposedly 120psi across all 4 cylinders. Haven't compression tested myself as it just arrived late yesterday and I've been very busy since, but this is on the agenda. The car starts fine, seems to have normal amounts of power when driving easy and doesn't have any weird noises.

It throws codes 12, 13, 14. The battery was replaced 4 days ago so I'm sure that's where error 12 is coming from.