Turbo Dodge Forums banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Premium Member
603 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Some of you may have noticed that I have been missing for a couple years. Most of that is due to my job requiring me to travel a lot, and when I get home, there's always a project waiting to be done, so the cars go to the bottom of the list. I haven't been able to work on the Daytona for a couple years, but finally have it back into the garage. With the virus keeping me from traveling, I finally have time to work on it.

For years, I have wanted to upgrade the tires and wheels to something more current, which would allow me to also upgrade to bigger brakes, without breaking the bank. This is going to be my track day car, but also a fun street car. The main post is at:

If you've never looked into a Quick-Jack car lift, I highly recommend them. They make raising and lowering really easy and seem to be really stable. I have the 7000 lb version and have used it to lift my Titan, with no issues.

The Daytona came with the standard 205-60R15 tires, as the Laser. Years ago, I upgraded the Laser to aftermarket wheels, which I really liked, but wished that I had wider tires. When I took it to the track, I bought a cheap set of tires, in 215-60R15 size, which tended to rub a bit, but worked OK, as long as you didn't turn them to full lock. At the time, I figured that I was out of luck, in the upgrade department. I have since learned that 15" tires are pretty much going away, so I decided to dive into this again.

I first had to decide on a tire wheel size. Doing a lot of research, I learned that the SCCA Miatas are required to run 225/45R17s, and there are a lot of used ones out there, which will keep track day tire cost down.

I first needed to figure out if they would fit under the Daytona. Normally, I would go to the U-Pull It yard and buy a used one, but decided to take a chance and bought a set of these, off eBay, for under $300, delivered: