Turbo Dodge Forums banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Alright we i have had this 89 daytona shelby for a wile now and since i got it, there has been a cutoff issue. when i go to WOT it pulls hard up to ~4800RPM than just dies, like a revlimiter. If i keep it at WOT its like the mottor shuts off and the RPMs fall than when it drops to ~4500 it picks back up again and than dies again when it hits 4800 again. though if i go to part throttle it will rev past 4800 no problem.

I have checked all my ignition (its all good) and did not change the issue at all, swapped injectors last night no change. there is no vacuum leaks, and it gets ~18" of vac at idle. I am confident that it is not Fuel related, since i have been running the car like this for about 4-5 months now, and if it was leaning out i would have cooked the motor. I have also tried another computer (a spare MP cal i had sitting around) and that computer has the same issue as this one.

I am VERY stumped on this issue, and frankly am running out of things to try, later today i had planned to check the throttlebody as maybe the throttleplate is loose, or flapping around a bit. (this is a long shot)

So any light you guys can shed on this matter will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

·
Premium Member
1,065 Posts
Map

·
Premium Member
9,110 Posts
sounds like an overboost fuel cutoff to me...

Mini-Mopar Turbo Preformance

what boost you running ? stock computer/solenoid control or MBC or ?

try running the vac line directly from intake mani to turbo WG and see what boost you run then (should be much lower) and see if problem goes away

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
sounds like an overboost fuel cutoff to me...

Mini-Mopar Turbo Preformance

what boost you running ? stock computer/solenoid control or MBC or ?

try running the vac line directly from intake mani to turbo WG and see what boost you run then (should be much lower) and see if problem goes away