Turbo Dodge Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
]


Ok I am upgrading Turbo's I am going from a tiny mitsu to a super 60 T3
I know I am going to need more fuel...I currently run a Aeromotive 1:1 that is boost sensing....Anyways I am adding a Cartech 2025. I am just double checking my setup as I am still green to this stuff. Is this how the basic lines will run? Do I just T the cartech return into the return for my 1:1? Here is a pic....the Purple is the new addition the rest has been in place for a good while. THANK YOU IN ADVANCE!!!!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,871 Posts
you need to place that Cartech unit inline with the aeromotive regulator in the return line. The way you have it pictured in your pic is in parrallel. That just won't work. When the cartech unit is trying to add fuel pressure, the aeromotive unit is just bypassing the fuel to return.

The only way the setup will work is if you place the cartech's inlet directly from the aeromotive's outlet to the return (bottom port). Then run the cartech's outlet to the fuel return back to the tank.

Wink


P.S. good luck setting up a 2025 unit. I believe that particular unit is for N/A motors getting turbo added to them. The one you should have purchased only had the bleed adjustment without the center base pressure adjustment (2022 unit).
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
thanks for the very informative response. And I know but see....I have a 96 dodge neon...now turbo. So this is the right setup for me.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
-----<cartech<------Aeromotive------->Rail
-------------------supply^


So this is correct right?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
812 Posts
wouldn't it be:
fuel supply------rail--------afpr---------cartechrrr---------return to tank
Thats the way I have my vortech fmu setup. I thought the regulator's whent after the fuel rail. placing them before the rail would lower the pressure at the rail wouldn't it? or is the aeromotive unit different in constuction than a stock regulator?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,871 Posts
I just have one question. Does the 96 Neon fuel return go directly to the tank in free-flow mode or does it go to a "regulator" within the tank at the end of that line?

I have worked on different cars that have had returnless fuel systems that only allow certain pressure into the fuel supply line to the rail. It blocks flow to the rail when it reaches a certain pressure. I know most carb setups do it this way. I have 4 vehicles that have a pump that supplied directly to the fuel rail through a filter. I know how my BEGI unit works for my turbo project for my Lebaron. I just lack personal experience with your stock fuel system. I figure that since your diagram included a return line, then the way your setup looked was completly wrong in my eyes. Please tell me how the Cartech unit will add pressure "above your aeromotive regulator's pressure" in the configuration you're running. And if you would have stated it was a Neon in your original post, I guess I could have addressed my response a little differently. I guess I assumed that it was for a turbo 2.2/2.5L motor.

Wink
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,744 Posts
mwinkle353 said:
P.S. good luck setting up a 2025 unit. I believe that particular unit is for N/A motors getting turbo added to them. The one you should have purchased only had the bleed adjustment without the center base pressure adjustment (2022 unit).
Um, What is the downside to using a 2025? That's the one I'm using, and I DO have idle problems. My base pressure is 25 PSI (I'd try lower but my Accufab won't go lower). Educate me please :confused:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,871 Posts
John B said:
Um, What is the downside to using a 2025? That's the one I'm using, and I DO have idle problems. My base pressure is 25 PSI (I'd try lower but my Accufab won't go lower). Educate me please :confused:

Are you using this on a factory turbo car? What fuel pump do you have?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,744 Posts
mwinkle353 said:
Are you using this on a factory turbo car? What fuel pump do you have?
'91 Shadow T1 stock pump.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,744 Posts
I'm using +20's; probably will have to go to +40's in the near future.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,008 Posts
John B said:
I'm using +20's; probably will have to go to +40's in the near future.
Shouldn't your base fuel pressure be 40 psi? 25 would be about suitable for +40's, but wayyyy too low for +20's.

Stock - 55psi
+20% - 40psi
+40% - 25psi

Someone please tell me if I'm incorrect.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,744 Posts
Yes, I'd like to know too! :confused:
 
1 - 13 of 13 Posts
Top