Turbo Dodge Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1985 Dodge Daytona Turbo Z
71 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I saw a video of someone making roughly 30+ horsepower on a turbo’d first Gen miata by removing the cat. Would this hold true to a T1 car? I don’t have a cat anyways but I have 2 ways of thinking that it would effect performance. According to Legend Donovan, the cars ran good enough without it to pass emissions, back in the day.

(These are just my own thoughts, not fact)

1. The cats back then aren’t as efficient as they are now, meaning it would be MORE restrictive than that of a newer on.

2. The cat would be less restrictive as requirements rise, so ultimately the cat wouldn’t be as heavy duty allowing more air flow that that of a few years newer.

i could be completely wrong about all of the above. I didn’t live in the time so I have no idea what the standard’s were. I’m still a rookie.

my car in particular had 146 from the factory, (and while cars lose horses overtime, I’m still going to have it machined and completely gone through, so hopefully the normal target is achieved) I’m curious how much could actually be gained by its removal. If the car was super throttled back by emissions, I bet without it, it would’ve been a much more popular car.

In the big picture I didn’t get a cat with the car, I’m not ever getting one, and anything emissions related is getting ripped off. (Should get me a few months of enjoyment before it has to be converted to electric, thanks Joe Biden.)

(Semi-unrelated) For a Turbo 1 car, (85) there’s no cat right after the exhaust port correct? Just the one under the car?

just a topic for discussion, thanks.

·
Registered
1992 dodge shadow es turbo
861 Posts
Hard to say because it’s very uncommon to just remove the cat and not upgrade the exhaust pipe and muffler. I would say 5 to 10 hp but the gains would really be in spool time of the turbo.

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·