Turbo Dodge Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This question is for turbo master minds or technicians... im new to turbos. Know very very little and was thinking of all different oils that lubricate the bearings and was wondering. Would power steering fluid lubricate the turbo too? Just trying to learn not actually going to do so. If it would work, and properly lubricate the turbo, would it have to be a thick viscosity? Just trying to learn more and more of the different things about everything i can lol im only 20 years old so the more i learn the longer i have to learn more and figured i could start here

·
Administrator
24,883 Posts
Welcome To TD!!!

Power Steering fluid is a Hydraulic Fluid, not a Lubricant.
The biggest issues with keeping a turbo lubricated are time and heat.
Time meaning how long on a cold startup before oil actually flows to the turbo.
(Will also affect Camshaft Lubrication)
The turbo gets extremely hot and could spin in upwards of 100,000 RPM's.

The best ways to combat both of these issues is by using Synthetic Motor Oil.
Synthetics are not affected by temperature so they will flow quickly in extreme cold weather and maintain there lubricating ability under extreme pressure/heat.

The other problems that arise are from heat soak after shutting the car off.
Engine and engine components see a rise in temperature after shutdown due to heat still being present but no cooling taking place, this is especially true in the turbo.
Synthetic oils have a minute carbon footprint and can maintain their original state under extreme heat so there is virtually no chance of "coking".

From Exxon/Mobil...
"Coke is the solid residue created when oil undergoes severe oxidative and thermal breakdown at extreme engine temperatures. The higher the temperature, the harder, blacker and more brittle the coke/deposit residue"