Turbo Dodge Forums banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I picked up a Chrysler Laser that sat for 20+ years. Looks like I'll be replacing the injector. Yes, it's not a turbo car but I sure could use the help. How do you release the electrical connector to the injector? Is there a special tool?

·
Registered
311 Posts
Small flat head screwdriver or a pick, pry the metal clip from the sides of the connector, then unplug. Edit: Whoops thats for turbo injectors, I have no experience with tbi units sorry.

·
Registered
282 Posts
Which year? The 1984-85 Bosch unit is a tad different than 1986. The early unit has a rectangular (square) retention clip that goes around the left, top, and right sides of the connector. Carefully use a pick and pry the metal clip out and away from either the right or left side and gently work it up and off. The bottom side of the clip has small "ears," but is mostly open. Kind of looks like this:

Rectangle Parallel Font

Just work slowly & carefully so it doesn't "spring" away from you and across the front yard! Once you get the clip off, remove the plug from the injector and place the clip back into its groove in the plug. When you re-install, simply press the harness back on and she'll click into place. Here's a pic:

Automotive fuel system Fluid Automotive tire Auto part Gas

The 1986 TBI injector has a domed black cap that slides over the two injector terminals (prongs). Remove the Torx screw from the cap and slowly work it up and off.

·
Registered
282 Posts
FWIW, I'd go with the Mopar (Bosch) replacement for the older unit if I were you. A bit spendy, but still available.

I recently rebuilt the same unit on a Reliant wagon I just sold. Very easy rebuild with all parts readily available. If yours is a 1986, kindly disregard:)

Wood Gas Cameras & optics Camera accessory Machine

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
That's great to have the list. Thanks for that Capt W.