Turbo Dodge Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey ya'll!

I just got back from a 650+ mile trip in my 1989 Dodge Daytona C/S. When I was pulling onto the exit to get home it wouldn't let me shift into 1st or 2nd gear. It eventually let me into 2nd but I'm still not able to get it into 1st. I can get into all other gears. The lower cable that connects to the gearshift mechanism from the engine bay appears to be binding when trying to shift into 1st but I can't find where. The transmission is the A-555.

This is my first time really working on a tranny and I am unfortunately nowhere near a lift or have the facility to take the tranny apart. I'm supposed to be making another 400 mile trip tomorrow afternoon so i'm going to tinker with it tomorrow morning.

Any advice is helpful!

Thank you!

·
Administrator
3,969 Posts
Rent a car.
Lame, fixing issues, especially roadside is more rewarding. Only time you need to rent a car is if you spun a crank/rod bearing or absolutely grenade the transaxle. Everything else can be fixed on the road or limped home.

Anyhow... follow NAJ's tips above, it does sound like a linkage alignment issue where you could still manage 2nd. Otherwise the next step would be broken shift fork pads for the 1-2 fork which would lead to a undesired trans overhaul.

·
Registered
13,440 Posts
Lame, fixing issues, especially roadside is more rewarding. Only time you need to rent a car is if you spun a crank/rod bearing or absolutely grenade the transaxle. Everything else can be fixed on the road or limped home.
Last time I couldn't shift to first gear I found this. So yeah, not lame. Stuck in the middle of the 400 miles trip sucks. This isn't the roadkill show were you have a support vehicle that can help you out. People die on the side of the freeway because idiot drivers.

·
Super Moderator
11,683 Posts
there's a hidden killer in ALL our manual transaxles..