Turbo Dodge Forums banner

PT Cruiser TURBO CHANGE

3K views 8 replies 5 participants last post by  FaceMaster7 
#1 ·
HELLO,,
Every one,,Newbie here an first time PT guy.,,,,(2006 Touring Convertible)
And first time changing out the turbo.
Do you all have any so called "TRICKS" (or short cuts ) to make this job easier??
Are there any videos any where to help me out on this job ?

As far as a replacement,,any recommendations,,brand,,vendors ??
Or even a mild upgrade?

THANKS ,,for any and ALL HELP

Mike In Maine

#4 ·
Make sure you have the crush washers for assembly of the oil and coolant lines
I didn't replace mine, a friend showed me and old trick, heat the washers up until they are glowing and let them cool, reinstall. It softens them up enough to reuse.

Forward Motion used to sell the Enforcer Turbo upgrade which is perfect for a mild setup.
I have a big wheel stock turbo from another vendor, my turbo has greatly increased lag.
I don't mind it, keeps from blowing off the tires.

#8 ·
is the car completely stock? if so , i think your a ways away from upgrading your turbo, there's a few things you can do and dont cost as much to get your hp to the numbers where your going to need a clutch upgrade, then fuel pump,injectors, 3 bar's, then bigger turbo....

imo a bigger turbo or a big wheel upgrade (only) at stock boost levels wont net you as much as a stock turbo with these mods - you have room for 8-12psi gain and 30-80hp gain