Turbo Dodge Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
168 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been driving TD's since 1987 and only recently did I aquire my first T-III car,a '91 Spirit R/T.I was going to pass it up but,It was too good of a deal to do so and now that I have it....I love it.Its the first 4 door that I've ever owned.Its my understanding that these cars need some special attention because of its motor.One concern I have is ralated to head cracking.From what I have read,these cylinder heads are notorious for cracking because the factory used steel frost plugs where they should have used aluminum ones.My question is:which frost plugs were they referring to?Is it the thread in plugs between the spark plugs(what size are they?) or is it the plugs at the back end of the head?
Another question that I have is related to valve noise.If I let the car sit for any period of time,I get some ticking noise coming from the top end for about 10-15 seconds following start up,then it goes away.The car still runs super smooth.
What spark plugs is everyone running and whats the crappiest grade of fuel that I should use?This car is stock and I plan on keeping it this way until I know it better
Are there any other quirks about this car that I should watch out for?What parts if any should I keep as spares as I await their impending doom?Any other info that can better inform me on how to keep this car running well would be much appreciated.Thanks all.

Frank

·
Registered
3,672 Posts