Turbo Dodge Forums banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
3,480 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I know there have been threads on the speed limiter before, but I wanted to get an update on it. Has anyone found any way to safely remove, move or bypass the speed limiter on a PT Cruiser? If not, has it been done on a Neon? If so, how? I know it wouldn't be exactly the same as on a Neon, but it would be a starting point.

RN

·
Registered
3,488 Posts
Not possible with the OEM computer. It controls everything.
I wonder,..... why do want to do this?
The engine doesn't continue to make power any higher than 6250rpm. The torque and power bands drop like a rock. Reving any higher won't be a benefit.
The speed limiter is at 118mph.
Isn't that fast enough?

The highest posted speed limit I've seen is 70mph. So, 118 is 48mph above the speed limit.

I understand the thrill of speed. I've been racing for many years. 200mph in a Winston Cup car is certainly a thrill. But, I do it on a closed track. I've been to 155mph on the street when I was young and dumb. That will NEVER happen again. Keep it on the race track.

·
Registered
359 Posts
dont the chips get rid of the speed limiter?

155 is about the norm for speed limiters, not 118. i dont think cars should have limiters anyway.

eric

·
Registered
1,258 Posts
Try 150 mph indicated ...on 2 wheels.... more than once!

·
Registered
959 Posts
Went 125 on a Yamaha 650 Maxim with my brother on back when I was much younger and ummm braver 8o Up to 105 in my 67 mustang but anything higher and it would shake like hell and be all over the road. Had to change my pants the first time this happened in a race. :}

·
Registered
1,258 Posts
My high speed 2 wheel shots were on 3 different Suzuki 750 Katanas the last which is still my wife's possesion. Highest car speed was 30 years ago in a 1971 350 camaro 135 mph and blew the rear tire the following day. Sorry, Robert this doesn't answer your question....

·
Registered
1,939 Posts