Turbo Dodge Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As I am well aware of, the '87 Charger GLHS' were not badged right off the line, and as a result some of them came with the smaller Shelby windshield decal and Shelby GLHS Mobil 1 Plaque. I am trying to determine if these are what my Charger are suppose to have, or if the set that I already bought with the larger windshield decal is correct. As well, could someone direct me to the vin decoder that you use for the Shelby's please? My vin is 1B3BZ64E5HD582786

·
Registered
103 Posts
The VIN isn't going to be able to tell you what windshield decal it had. If memory serves the early ones that were built came with the longer decal and when those were gone they switched to the shorter one. I assume you can't see where the decal was on the windshield? Mine I can see. I have a master list of the VINs but that might give an idea of whether it was built early or late. I don't think there is any info out there that says they built this many with the longer decal.

Scheduled ship date 12/16/86 to Peninsula Dodge, Newport News, VA

Looks like it was one of the cars built in the back half of production according to ship date.

·
Premium Member
508 Posts
As far as I know, Charger GLHS #0001 through 0100 had the shorter Shelby windshield decal.
The '87 windshield decal wasn't ready yet.
They had to use the 86 version and cut off the CS logo on both sides.
More cars may have the shorter version, but what I was told many years ago was that at least the first 100 had this.

Interestingly. the reverse happened with the Mobil 1 plaques.
They ran out of the rectangular Charger GLHS plaque later in the run.
#0325 has the Charger GLHS plaque, and #0956 has the GLHS plaque.

·
Registered
297 Posts