1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
129 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
SOLVED
Thanks

Hey,

I believe that my Turbo has finally bit the dust. Has side to side shaft play, and I get a nice cloud of blue smoke at idle once the engine is all warmed up. I'm not an expert on the differences between turbos over the years besides the mitsubishi and garrett, but I am looking for the garrett that has the three bolt holes on the inlet side. Really i'm just looking for a turbo that works and doesn't leak, so this could be used or rebuilt. I won't be needing the swing valve either. As always, running on a budget, but let me know if you have anything lying around.

Thanks

·
Banned
7,665 Posts

·
Registered
2,164 Posts
Looks like a good deal on the rebuilt one.

I have a decent used one but with shipping it would take $150.00 U.S.

Excessive in-out play isn't good but our Turbos often aren't the cause of smoke.

Thanks
Randy

·
Registered
129 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Looks like a good deal on the rebuilt one.

I have a decent used one but with shipping it would take $150.00 U.S.

Excessive in-out play isn't good but our Turbos often aren't the cause of smoke.

Thanks
Randy
The rebuilt one does look like a good deal, only that its out of my price range right now. Ive done as much googling as I could to try and rule out the turbo, but Ive pulled the intake, which is oil free, checked the plugs, which look very nice and healthy, and have created a really nice catch can with filter to try to free up all the crankcase pressure. Oil drain is also as direct as I can get it...
I don't have any blue smoke under power, from what I can tell could be caused by the backpressure in the exhaust keeping the oil out, but once I come back to idle, it blows blue. This was an on and off again problem, but just today it decided to appear and stay. I will be pulling off the turbo tonight to make sure that is the culprit, but I may take you up on your used offer.