Turbo Dodge Forums banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
584 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I would like to buy some soon. I'm a total noob when it comes to slicks. I was thinking M&H 23.0'' x 7.5'' - 15'' or M&H 24.5'' x 8.5'' - 15'' I have 3.50 gears.

For arguments sake, my brother ran a 14.208 at 96.96 2.10 60ft Generally speaking, how much could he have shaved off his et by running slicks?

·
Registered
2,210 Posts
He may have been able to crack a 13.9, assuming that was a FWD car.

I have m&h 23x7.5x15. Only went to the track once and couldnt get below 2.08 60' because of a weak clutch.

people have run 12s on the 23x7.5 but if you are running a turbo car i would go for 23.5 or 24.5 honestly. I just picked up the 23s because the majority of the cars that will use those slicks are low-power n/a and could use the gearing advantage.

·
Registered
353 Posts
Old Matchbox runs 20.5x7x13 Hoosiers...they are midget front tires and also sold as sports car slicks...not really for drag racing. Before those I had itty bitty Goodyear Sports car specials that were 20x6x13!

·
Registered
362 Posts
With slicks a 1.9 -ish short time should not be out of the question (and slightly lower with practice). That should take 3 to 4 tenths off of the 14.2. This is all assuming that there is a lot of wheelspin at the moment. I would stick with the short slick. I don't think there is enough power there for the taller one (or need).

·
Registered
2,210 Posts
In general, the more power you have, the bigger slick you need, the easier it is to launch.

The less power you have, the smaller slick you need, the harder it is to launch.

IIRC the fastest stock 3.0 1/4 mile was run on 20" slicks. That's TINY. The smaller the diameter, the more gear reduction you get (and the less spinning weight), and the lower power you have, the more it helps. A non-turbo 3.0 is a low-power car, btw. Non-boosted 3.0 should be running 20-23" slicks imo.