Turbo Dodge Forums banner

1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
247 Posts
It just might but for the hassel, should just put on a new one. Do it right the first time, no prob's later. Plus, it's only going to get bigger and it would take you like, 20 minutes.

·
Registered
1,947 Posts
I agree. Replace that baby. The boot kits are just a headache.

·
Registered
1,252 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Well, I spent the weekend replacing axles... bought a brand new one that exploded both inner and outer joints, then put this used one on and noticed the crack after the fact. Gets old swapping axles. I've been messing with these cars since 2001 and have never had axle problems like these.

·
Registered
15,058 Posts
Clean off the area with a clean rag and brake cleaner. Put some RTV on it and let it dry, then put another coat on, spread it out over an inch or so. If I damage my boots-small hole, thats all I do and as long as the area is clean, works like a champ.

·
Registered
1,252 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
turbovanman said:
Clean off the area with a clean rag and brake cleaner. Put some RTV on it and let it dry, then put another coat on, spread it out over an inch or so. If I damage my boots-small hole, thats all I do and as long as the area is clean, works like a champ.
I did this today, but I used rtv adhesive, not gasket maker. I used degreaser instead of brake cleaner. I don't mind replacing the whole axle, but I'd like to find out if this one's gonna last for a while without snapping. I'll clean it up again tomorrow and put a dab more rtv on it. I figured somebody had to have patched it up like this before.

·
Registered
430 Posts
If it's the live-rubber boot, you can use rubber cement to seal it up. I've done this on several boots with small tears or pinholes, and they are still running strong. If the tear is over 3/8? long, replace the boot or axle.

·
Registered
1,252 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Lone Eagle said: